Review: Heady Topper Beer by The Alchemist

in #beer6 years ago

I was lurking at my job and kept seeing this beer in the fridge. I wondered what it was, since it looks like a generic malt liquor container and said "8% alcohol". One of the newer guys said it's really good and it's apparently only found in Vermont, but he had laid in a stock at home already. I kept waiting for someone to claim it - I waited for months. Then one day I just asked everyone and apparently nobody wants it anymore, so it belonged to me, which is the way of all stale food there.

So when I got home I cracked open the can. It said "drink from the can" so I did. Immediately, I was hit by a wave of pine. I flashed back to when when I was a 5 year old eating cedar and juniper berries behind the building because I was stupid. It also tasted like gin mixed with a bog standard malt liquor like Crazy Horse. I understand that gin is made with some sort of pine berry but I was dared to drink it in freshman year.

I'm not sure what color this beer is because I drank it from the can, but from the flavor it tastes green. Maybe because I'm thinking about a tree. Apparently this beer is sold at a premium. It has a very exotic flavor, one that I've never seen in any beer before. It says IPA but it's not bitter at all.

Sort:  

I’ve heard good things about this beer.

It mostly tastes like pine tree.

For a gin drinker that’s not a bad flavor. To each his own right?

Yes I would say that gin drinkers would like it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63