Brewing beer - part 11: Hops!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #beer7 years ago

Hops are essential for both the taste and the aroma of the beer!

hops.jpg

Hops started out as a preservative and bittering ingredient for the beer but the brewers soon found out that different varieties of hops gave the beer a characteristic flavour and aroma. The art of hopping a beer had started! Today there are beers with so much hops in them that the beer itself is just a liquid in the background and the hops has taken over both taste and aroma completely!

There are two different groups of hops, those that are used mainly for the bittering of the beer ( they tend to have a high alpha acid content) and those that are used mainly for their aroma. There are some general hops as well that can be used for both bittering and aroma.

I tend to use a more moderate amount of hops in my beers since I'm not a big fan of the highly hopped IPA trend, I prefer my beers on the malty side of the taste spectrum. A typical beer for me has around 30-90g/1-3oz of hops in the recipe, depending on beer style and hop variety (alpha acid content mostly!)
I often use the american Cascade hop for its citrusy aroma and flavour, recently I tried out the Citra high-alpha hop in an Imperial Stout to see if I could ged a similar taste but with a higher degree of bittering per weight than the Cascade. Turned out OK, the beer is not ripe yet so the jury is still out on that one. I have also tried out the Amarillo hop with good results.
Another hop that I use quite frequently is the british Fuggles, a good general hop for bittering and aroma in british style beers. I'm also growing Fuggles hops in my garden!

Thank you for today and stay tuned, tomorrow I plan a post about a brew day with my Brewie B20 automatic brewery!

Sort:  

Nice post!
Do you have any comment on using hops pellets vs whole hops?
Do hops get old? Does it need to be fresh? Are you buying it for each brew or how do you store it?

Yes, I have a lot of comments! ;-) I plan to do a hop deep dive post, right now I'm just skimming the surface in preparation for the dive...

Haha, I'll wait for that then! Cheers!

This post has received a 17.87 % upvote from @nettybot thanks to: @almvide.

Send 0.100 SBD to @nettybot with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

Oh, and be sure to vote for my owner, @netuoso, as Steem Witness

Have a great day!

This post has received a 6.32 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @almvide.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68362.52
ETH 3747.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66