It's Bottling Day: German IPA

in #beer6 years ago

Two beer posts in one day? What is this madness? I work from home three days per week, so on my lunch break today at home I bottled the eagerly awaited German IPA that I brewed and blogged about 12 days ago here.

bottles.jpg

I only use these incredibly versatile Coopers plastic bottles when I bottle my beer. For 15 of them in a box, it only costs $14 and you can even buy them at Big W.

far-back-fill-shot.jpg

My wife isn't a fan, but I find putting the fermenting vessel on-top of the clothes dryer in the laundry is the right height for bottling my beer and the gravity helps fill the bottles faster.

filling-in-progress.jpg

The downside to bottling is that it takes forever, opposed to racking into a secondary and then kegging it via forced carbonation (something I'll be doing more of in the coming months). I also dry-hopped without a bag this time, so I had a bit of trub clogging up my spout (that's what he said...).

filling-up.jpg

Perhaps my favourite thing about these boxes of Cooper's beer bottles is the fact once you're done bottling, you can use them to safely store your beer away in the dark somewhere to ferment and develop.

In a few weeks time I'll have a review of this German style IPA which will come in around 5% (so a lot lighter than the usual heavy IPA I make).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71