Beer Review - Recoil India Pale Ale

in #beer6 years ago

I haven't had a beer for 6 days now, that might be a new record for me in the past couple of years! And what I am having is also out of character, an IPA!!! This one from an Idaho brewery, Recoil, which I picked up at my local beer seller, Vintage Sellers. I get to try my new IPA specific for tasting glass, part of a set my dear wife gave me for Fathers Day, which has Stout, Wheat and Sour tasting glasses also. Maybe that will make it taste better? :)

Payette Brewing Company - Recoil India Pale Ale

IMG-4520.JPG

Stats

  • Brewery: Payette Brewing Company - Boise, Idaho
  • Alcohol Content: 6.5%
  • IBUs: 80
  • Company Description: Just like a gun recoil, the backward momentum of a gun when it is fired, this beer leaves you with a kick of flavor. Recoil is an India Pale Ale with a unique hop blend that gives off a berry and piney aroma balanced with a firm bitterness that any discerning beer lover can appreciate. Citra hops give it lemon aroma in the finish, making it dangerously drinkable.

IMG-4521.JPG
IMG-4522.JPG

The Can
This beer came in a white 12 oz aluminum can with light green and gray colors. The lettering was in a western type of font with two crossed pistols on the front of the can. The rear of the can had a target with the Payette "P" in the center and the beer name on the bottom. The side has the required warnings and scan bar, which interestingly, has three states on it, Idaho in white and Montana and Wyoming making up the bar code, which is pretty unique. From what I can see on the website, this beer only comes in a 12 oz can, but is probably on tap as well. Payette has 10 year round beers, of which I have tried two others, 4 seasonal, and a series of stouts and porters that are barrel aged.

IMG-4523.JPG

The Beer

  • Appearance: This beer is a golden, almost orange color, slightly hazy with a solid head of foam, which left some lacing as the beer when down.
  • Aroma: Hoppy and some citrus aroma.
  • Taste/Mouthfeel: Light bodied, with some moderate carbonation, slightly bitter finish. Noted is the citrus flavor, and mild bitterness. Not nearly as bitter as I expected with 80 IBU.
  • Drinkability: I actually liked this beer pretty well, easy drinker.

IMG-4524.JPG

Rating and Final Thoughts


I gave this a solid 3.75 on Untappd, which matched the one friend who has tried it. Its overall rating was 3.65 from1611 raters. So everyone is about the same on this. A mid-level IPA which for me is high. I liked it, nice citrus taste, mild hoppiness and not as bitter as the 80 would indicate. I could see myself drinking more than one of these, what a shocker!!

3.75/5

Thanks for reading my beer review. Hopefully you enjoyed it and will maybe give this beer a try if you see it. Cheers!

Sort:  

You see, we can grow as individuals. :-)) Nice review. I just checked out Untappd and will have to work my way around it a little. Glad you like the IPA. Maybe the weather is just too hot....

I’ll try IPAs when I start running out of other beers to try! I actually had two IPAs tonight, will post other one tomorrow. Wasn’t overly hot here today but needed a beer after 6 long days.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-23T23:09:51
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 421.75/200.00
Total Photos: 68
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62267.50
ETH 2992.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71