Beer Review - Squatters Craft Beers - Hell's Keep Blegian Style Golden Ale

in #beer6 years ago

I saw the can and read that it was a Belgian Style golden ale, and I still bought it even with my aversion to Belgian style beers. Am I a dope or what? Will it be a stinker due to the Belgian style taste I so don't like? Lets see.

Squatters Craft Beers - Hell's Keep Golden Ale

IMG-4384.JPG

Stats

  • Brewery: Squatters Craft Beers - Salt Lake City, Utah
  • Alcohol Content: 7.75% by volume
  • IBUs: 30
  • Company Description: Hell’s Keep is a complex and refreshing Belgian beer experience. Unique flavors and aromas created during fermentation, along with bold carbonation, produce this devilishly delicious Belgian Style Golden Ale.

IMG-4385.JPG

Presentation
As you can see in the pictures, this beer comes in a 12 oz aluminum can with some demonic graphics to go with the name, Hell's Keep, in a weird orange on a gray background. The back of the can has the usual brewery information and government warnings plus a nifty little blurb about the beer (see above). As far as I know all Squatters Craft Beers come in aluminum cans. They have won the following awards with this beer per their website.

  • GOLD MEDAL 2014 GREAT AMERICAN BEER FESTIVAL BELGIAN STYLE STRONG SPECIALTY ALE CATEGORY
  • BRONZE MEDAL 2010 GREAT AMERICAN BEER FESTIVAL BELGIAN STYLE STRONG SPECIALTY ALE CATEGORY

IMG-4386.JPG

The Beer

  • Appearance: A slightly hazy golden color with a hefty head of foam.
  • Aroma: Smells of belgian malts/hops or whatever that smell is, I get it in all the Belgian beers.
  • Taste/Mouthfeel: Carbonated with the sweet, bready taste, classic Belgian ale. It is sweet yet not sweet, leaves a slightly bitter taste in the mouth on the finish. I will say it is not as strong of a "classic" Belgian ale taste as some other beers I have had.
  • Drinkability: It wasn't a bad beer to drink, went down pretty easily even with the relatively high abv.

IMG-4387.JPG

Rating and Final Thoughts


I gave this a generous 3.0 on Untappd, where two friends avereaged it at 3.13 (one 2.25 and one 4) and overall it has a 3.65 with 3675 ratings. It was a classic Belgian ale like it was stated on the can. One day I will say, "Oh, Belgian Ale, I will take a pass". Am I Right? Or will I never learn. I actually think I like IPAs more that Belgian ales. :)

3.00/5

I doubt this will be in this weeks #beersaturday but you never know, depends on how many other beers I get to log in. If you like Belgian ales, you would like this, it actually wasn't half bad. I didn't mind it too bad. Cheers!

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-05T00:18:33
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 369.75/200.00
Total Photos: 60
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Excellent article. I learned a lot of interesting and cognitive. I'm screwed up with you, I'll be glad to reciprocal subscription))

Congratulations @bigskycustoms! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Lol, IPA's indeed!

I know, right!

I’m in a quest to find you an IPA you might like.

I have had one I really liked, but it was just on tap. Strawberry milk shake IPA by Kettlehouse Brewing from Missoula Montana

That sounds great! I can honestly say I’m not sure I’ve ever heard of a milkshake IPA.

I think I'm beginning to agree with you on these Belgium golden ales. Mighty fine try tho!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11