Huckleberry Cream Ale: An Amateurish Beer ReviewsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #beer5 years ago (edited)

About four weeks ago, I reviewed another huckleberry beer. In reply, @flemingfarm asked whether I had tried this brew from Laughing Dog Brewing of Ponderay, Idaho (just north of Sandpoint) for a comparison. I had not. Now I have.

6d8406_cb83668a9f6347aaa087dec6dc320a91_mv2.webp
Image credit

It is definitely different from the Montana beer. There is far less huckleberry aroma and flavor, but it is there adding a unique twist to the taste of an already good cream ale. This is not a strong beer at 4% ABV, and the hops are mild at 9 IBU, but it doesn't taste watery or weak. It's crisp and refreshing, with no cloying syrupy sweetness.

I think I prefer the previous beer with its more dominant huckleberry profile, but this is by no means bad, and your mileage may vary. My opinion may change, too, because this is definitely worth another try in the future for deeper contemplation.

Sort:  

It's crisp and refreshing

This is my feelings exactly. It is a nice summer session with a pleasant flavor that I don't mind drinking on all day. And this from me who likes the strongest IPA I can get.

I tend to favor the porters-and-stouts family of beers, but a good lager is a rare and wonderous thing. The huckleberry is the icing on the cake.

To me what makes a beer is its ability to refresh. Love the crisp with mouth-full sweet, rather than sugar sweet. I can't imagine I will be able to try this up in Canada but you got me looking forward to what our local brewers and vintners​ will come up with this summer.

Sandpoint is an easy day's drive from Calgary, if you're in western Canada.

I am but I am in Vancouver.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95