Drinking Chicha - Inca Corn Beer

in #beer7 years ago

Drinking Chicha is the most interesting beer experience I ever had.

Two summers ago I lived in Peru for the summer (their winter). One of my favorite things to do was to go to remote villages where there were very few or no tourists. One day I was at an open air market and saw this big vat of cream colored liquid with a heavy layer of foam on top. There must have been 6 or 8 Peruvian standing there slowing drinking this mystery brew. I curiously asked what it was and they told me it was a corn beer called Chicha.

WP_20150718_15_26_49_Pro__highres.jpg

I think my dad and I were the only two tourists there and here I am standing in front of a group of locals with their heritage beer directly in front of me. All the Chicha drinkers are standing there with this look on their face of, 'is the gringo grande really going to drink this?' At this point I have to have a drink of Chicha.

The man cleans a glass for me and fills is up to the top with Chicha. I bring the drink up to my lips and look around at all the eyes looking right at me. I tell myself, "this is for America" and downed the Chicha.

Surprising it was not bad. I remember it being a little bitter and having a lighter taste than an IPA.

Here is clip from Discovery Channel on how they make Chicha.

Thanks for reading my post, if you enjoyed it please subscribe.

Sort:  

Sweet, I lived in Peru for a year and almost wrote about it tonight. Thanks for sharing this @steve-mcclair, it really takes me back!

I loved living in Peru. For the most part I was in Cusco. Where did you live?

Cusco mostly, in San Blas. I could see Sacsayhuaman from my bedroom--that was pretty epic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67235.68
ETH 3139.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73