Ahhh, Thursday Beer!

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)

The Thursday Beer Talk


What a week it has been since last Thursday beer! While I'm quite new to the cryptocurrency world, it was still really shocking to hear about Coincheck getting $533 million worth in XEM hacked in what was literally the biggest theft in the history of mankind, and it's probably bigger than 99% of thefts in Hollywood movies even. Just crazy. It's been notified on the media that the hacker responsible has started moving the currency to several different exchange sites but the same coins have been flagged as stolen, and anyone making deals for this currency will be notified they are stolen currency from Coincheck. I don't know exactly how effective this will be, but I find it hard to believe that there will be sufficient barriers to keep this person(s) from cashing out a large portion of this stolen crypto. Let's hope that these sort of hacks don't become a trend in the cryptocurrency world or it will very quickly attract lots of bad press and near certain harsh legislation from governments which will likely do more harm than good. More about it on Wccftech.

Meanwhile, South Korean Finance minister has declared that (for the time being), the country is not going to ban or surpress cryptocurrency trading, a welcome news for investors, including steemians. Although it seems that regulation is only a matter of time as the government is still going to push hard on legislation to control large foreign exchange activity which it considers money laundering. I really wonder what tight regulation is going to bring to the cryptocurrency markets, hopefully this will only be focused on making exchange sites 100% legit and safe, rather than purely just going for user's pockets. More about it on Reuters

Today's Choice:

With all the intensity in the news and also at work, I was really looking forward to my Thursday beer, and I'm going to tell you now why Thursday beer is the best beer of the week, but first, a sip of my Leffe Triple, I enjoy this in just about every moment, although it's not to be abused with its 8.5% abv. It is on discount today at the local supermarket so I snatched a couple to enjoy while I write this post.

3.jpg

So why is Thursday is the best day for beer? Well, imagine yourself leaving your work on a Friday Night, doesn't that feel good? Personally, I love Friday Nights, and Saturday Nights too, on Sunday I'm pretty much too hungover to care and then you have the week ahead of you at work. I don't need any incentive to feel happy during the weekend because it's the weekend!

I work with commodities trading, and it's intense work, especially from Monday to Thursday. I'm constantly under pressure, doing overtime and dealing with high value bulk commodities that leave very little room for error. Besides that, today was made even worse because it was also a month-end closing day, and anyone who has to deal with month-end closing knows what I'm talking about. I only wish I could have a stake on even a fraction of what is traded in my firm, but unfortunately for me, I'm on a fixed salary.

So when Thursday arrives, it is that moment that you simply cannot handle it anymore, that the weight of work has taken its maximum toll on your body and you just want to lie down and pass out, and yet, you still gotta work the next day! So to me, this is the perfect time to open a frosty bottle of beer, pour it into a cold glass, and drink that first sip intensely, like you are quenching your thirst on a hot day's sun. Welcome, to the best beer drinking moment of your entire week! This is my Thursday beer experience, and I work extra hard during the week and push myself through that extra mile, every day looking forward to this moment, as the harder I work the better this beer tastes.

2.jpg

This was a true statement of the little things in life that matter a lot. And for everyone who is exhausted this evening from working or doing any activity in your daily routine, I bid you cheers, you have earned your Thursday Beer!

Sort:  

well brewed post! upvoted n followed for next thursday

what commodities do u trade? i used to prop trade futures before cryptocurrencies

I work with importing and trading of petrochemicals, so Naphtha, Propane, etc.. I operationalize around 5-6 very large shipments across two continents per month. Not a commercial trader yet though, but that's a firm career objective.

Enjoy it, you deserve it from the sounds of the work you do, Cheers!!!

The best beer for me is the after work beer!
Checking the market this week is like
ifESSEH.gif

It sounds like it really hit the spot after a hard week and was well deserved. I'm usually not a huge fan of Leffe (part of the evil AB-InBev empire) but sometime you just have to enjoy the beer in your hand for what it is and not who owns the producer.

It's not my top pick by any means, but it's not a bad beer to have during the week. I normally go for much more fancy stuff, but hey, sometimes beggars can't be choosers.

Exactly. Cheers! 🍻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61135.20
ETH 2928.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66