A Bottle of Happiness (Mikkeller Monk's Brew) - Dan's Charity Initiative

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)

Let's drink a beer for a good cause! I will be donating all SBD generated by my beer reviews in December to @SchoolForSDG4 - a charity school founded by @azizbd. The aim is to provide free quality education to 50 underprivileged kids in Gashitula, Mukambari Road, Syllhet in Bangladesh, thus achieving Sustainable Development Goal 4 by 2030.

Mikkeller Monk's Brew ~ 330 ml ~ 3.60€ ~ Alc/Vol 10%

I had been looking for this beer for over 3 months, and I finally came across a bottle at the beer shop in my hometown. It's a Trappist style ale, and the legends say that the monks brew the best beer in the world. This means that I have high expectations :)

DSC_0054-02.jpeg

Outdoor refrigeration. The reflection that you see on the bottle is from my led wand, which was standing to the right. By the way, all photos are taken with my new Sony Xperia XZ Premium.

DSC_0067-01-01.jpeg

Look at these bubbles - they promise a lot!

DSC_0071-01.jpeg

Mikkeller's Monk brew pours dark brown, with a good looking brown head. There's nothing special about the smell; it's sugary sweet with hints of malt and yeast. It's the taste where this brew shines; malt, yeast, hops, coffee, caramel, and alcohol all come together at once and literally blasts my mouth! Plus, the thing is freaking spicey! Wow, this is something I have rarely experienced, and it makes wanna empty the glass in one quick gulp. The carbonation is on the strong side, but I don't mind it because it only emphasizes the experience.

DSC_0072-01.jpeg

The gut of the bottle.

DSC_0076-01.jpeg

If you want to make your taste buds happy look no further - a bottle of Mikkeller Monk's Brew will over-deliver!

Cheers and don't shy away from upvoting this post!

Dan

Sort:  

Nevermind snow and hot chocolate, the new motto is snow and good beer ❤ Resteemed in order for many more people to see this charity initiative.

Thank you, Ema! I like the new moto :)

Good beer and a good cause - how can you not upvote

Thanks a lot, man! The payout is probably not going to be huge, but considering the recent price of SBD, the equivalent in USD will be decent.

You make it sound delicious. And the label rocks.

But alas, I'll feel good about my upvote while comfortably sipping a Lisa-approved mocha latte. 😉

You sure managed to make this beer photogenic! Super nice idea, im in :)

Thank you, man!

How are you liking the new Sony? I'm not very familiar with their line. It looks like it's doing the job! Monk brew, eh?

I got to drink some pretty good monk brews up in Prague, about a decade ago. I'd go back to the Czech Republic just for the beer!

That's one hell of a good reason to visit the Czech Republic - I've heard many tales about their beer drinking habits! Some people have beer in the morning instead of coffee - how cool is that?! 😁

If the lighting is good, the Sony makes some really detailed shots, but as soon as it gets darker, the quality deteriorates considerably.

The monk beer was excellent. There was only one that I wasn't fond of. It was also very colorful... I wish I could go back for a few photos! They had everything from pitch black to almost clear, yellow, red, and I think even an oddly colored (blue?) one. I can't remember which was what, as it's been about eight years... The hot toddy in Prague is also very good.

Are you planning on coming back to Europe anytime soon?

I'd love to, but am working on a masters program and mostly broke lol. If love to be able to move back to Spain. Maybe after I complete my degree it'll be possible.

How long before you finish your studies? :)

If all goes well, I'll graduate in May, 2019

The beer looks great, I love the bottle!!

It was very drinkable! :) I am not sure why you sen't me a Steem tip but thank you!! :))

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Sunday.

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 18:29:34
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 21.30/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 6
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This post has received a 2.44 % upvote from thanks to: @harveyword.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.050 SBD to bid for votes.
The Minnowhelper team is still looking for investors (Minimum 10 SP), if you are interested in this, read the conditions of how to invest click here!!!
ROI Calculator for Investors click here!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73