Bulgarian non-craft “Premiums”... Collection of master brewers.

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)

Well... some time passed since my last post about the bulgarian non-craft premium beers and these seemed different... maybe some boring labeling, but what do you expect from a commercial beer? Huh...

Design.png

I was surprised to see this new Bulgarian “invention” - Collection Master Brewers.
I rememeber buying one Japanese “Crafred” beer and it didn’t meet my expectstions in any way. This brand (Shumensko) is one of my favourite everyday easy going beer, which really combines some fruity hoppiness with clear taste. This made me a bit excited about these two new players in their product range - Belgian Style and Czech Style.

IMG_0762.jpeg

Well... this isn’t very clear... Czech style? What is a Czech style? And what is Belgian style? Is it a saison? A wit... or a spontaneous fermented ale? Of course it isn’t the last assumption... I doubt that some head brewers of this company even know that such a style exists... well... such kind of beer, to be exact!

IMG_0764.jpeg

Now to the beers...
First I tried the Czech style... a nice hoppy aroma. I was actually happy with its somewhat strange hop aroma. But after the first sip... some watery feel, not malts at all, very basic and characterless beer. Overall clear and with medium carbonation, drinks very well! Like water!
The Belgian one? Some nice coriander aromas. The thickness and the body are at some very good levels. Belgian yeast? I am seriously doubting about that. Some haziness is observed. I don’t know, but I think this is an artificial one. Overall, a nice mid-range Belgian beer.
Both of them did have some nice head retention, which was somewhat unexpected for me. The Belgian one possessed a much smoother foam.

IMG_0768.jpeg

Checking the labels... Absolute disappointment... but what do you expect for about$1,2?!?! For both 330ml. beers, bottles included!
Corn maize, hops oils, hops extract, malt extract, natural aromatizers??? Which brewery uses malt extract for their brews? Corn maize and some unmalted barley... well, considering the price this may be expected... but is this a crafted quality from the master brewers. In fact the two beers have different head brewers, listed in the label. I think that, the “Shumensko” regular beer has more natural ingredients than these two. Of course, if I hadn’t experienced so many great beers, I would like these, but now they are nothing even close to crafted.

I’m happy to have always backup home brewed beers.

IMG_0779.jpeg
A nice Smoked Oatmeal Stout - home crafted to perfection!

I’ll now let you enjoy some nice photos from today’s session.
Cheers! And happy #beersaturday!

IMG_0770.jpeg

IMG_0772.jpeg

IMG_0773.jpeg

IMG_0774.jpeg

IMG_0776.jpeg

P.S. Just remember to follow my future craft brewery’s profile on steemit - @zver.beer
Hopefully in a couple of months we will gat it into move!

Sort:  

Sounds pretty macro to me. I would be suspect of a beer that just labels a generic style like they do, but hey you pay for what you get. Cheers.

Stunning photography again

Nice one, they look nice, but I think your photography would make tap water look appealing!! :o) @zver.beer now followed, good look with getting things off the ground..

Your beer photography is always fantastic.

It's a shame the beers weren't as good as your photography.

But what else would we expect from a big producer? They just don't have the ability to put in as much care and attention as the smaller producers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60