Collaboration... I love collaboration brews. This time Serbia-USA!

in #beersaturday6 years ago

Design.png

Hey, steemit fellows, beer lovers and #beersaturday contestants! What’s going on? Are you ready for this week’s beersaturday event? I’m already full of excitement. That’s the moment when I pick some great new beers, beers that I have never tried before. And this fact makes me really impatient for every consecutive week.

This time I was going to buy a beer, that I observed a lot of weeks, but never decided buying one. I was going for the Nøgne Ø Hoppy kveik, but instead of it, ended buying something very interesting... when I spotted this collaboration brew, I was sure, that my choice was going to change. And here it is:
IMG_0884.jpeg

Of course, the FLYING DOGMA GALAXY IPA. Maybe some of you don’t know, but Dogma is a relatively new craft brewery, founded in Belgrade, Serbia, while all of you have to know the Flying Dog brewery(USA). And I was really amazed to see these two breweries in collaboration. Of course, this choice was the better one, because the Hoppy Kveik by Ø will be on the market in the future, while I don’t really know if this collaboration will work again soon... or ever!
(That’s a clue for one of my future reviews. And which beer I will choose... i mean in the following weeks)

In the glass

IMG_0880.jpeg

This beer made a nice thick head and the thick layer of foam stayed almost till the end of the beer. The appearance was quite golden yellow and somewhat brilliant. Definitely in the bright SRM range for an IPA. It was clear, yet somewhat a bit hazy from the added hops, not by yeast. The aroma started blooming all around, even though the glass was relatively far away from my nose. A lot of tropics here, dominated by pineapple and some fresh grass flavors. Damn these hops! I really love them, and the galaxy hops in particular.

IMG_0876.jpeg

About the mouthfeel... this was absolutely one of my favorite IPAs. Very dry finish with a medium to medium low body. I am really a dry IPA man, so really I would like the beer to be even drier. The Stone IPA is a monument of a west coast IPA. Of course, I liked this one a lot too. Galaxy hops are for sure one of my top hops. IBUs are right just there for an IPA - somewhere between 60 and 70 On the scale. Really flavor is dominated by the pineapple and mango aromas. Veeeery much... veeeery much tropical sweetness and some floral notes and some spices at all. The maltiness exsists, but still it is very background like and not a great deal. It just completes the chatacter of the beer.

Well, this definitely is a must try beer. Serbian guys really know their work, and I think that Flying dogs are here just to make a better promotion of the Serbian brewery. And now... some more photos to enjoy:

IMG_0877.jpeg

IMG_0875.jpeg

IMG_0874.jpeg

IMG_0885.jpeg

IMG_0887.jpeg

That’s my #beersaturday post of this week. Thanks to @detlev for this great joy around this great contest.
Cheers!

Sort:  

Great pictures and what a cool name

Yeah, absolutely amazing... Only by reading the name I knew for sure, that this is a collaboration between the two breweries.

I love that craft beer has Collaborations better what should be competitors, it really is embodiment of craft.

Indeed! Totally agree with you!

Cracker of a review, very detailed and photography excellent as usual.. I definitely want to try one of these out for myself.. I will keep an eye out, but I suspect they may not be available in Ireland yet..

The bear looks good and sounds even better, nice post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99