Beer review: Corripa from Brokreacja Brewery (bull testicles as an ingredient)

16en.png

Today I’m going to review for you a beer from Brokreacja Brewery. It caught my attention because of one of its ingredients. This ingredient is… bull testicles. I have no idea how it tastes so I have no idea what to expect from this beer. The beer name is Corripa and it also contains an addition of jalapeno peppers. So, I decided to try it and share my opinion and experience with you.

First, as always, let’s take a look at the ingredients and the parameters of Corripa.

Style: New England Grande Cojones Jalapeno IPA
BLG: 15°
ABV: 5,7%
IBU: 40
Malts: Pale Ale, Rye
Additions: Oatmeal, Bull testicles, Jalapeno peppers
Hops: Equinox (USA), Citra (USA), Cascade (USA), CTZ (USA)
Yeast: n/a

The label is obviously referring to the beer’s name and the mysterious ingredient. It gives me mixed feelings and that is all I’m going to write about it. Evaluate yourself whether you like it or not.

IMG_20180624_153029-1-1-1.jpg

IMG_4307-1-1.jpg

The cap is neatly designed and despite it contains only the brewery’s logo, it presents very cool.

IMG_4312-1.jpg

When poured into a glass, the beer presents quite cool. It has an amber color, near to gold and it is a little bit blurry. The head is quite thick and lasting. It leaves almost unnoticeable lacing on the glass.

IMG_4326.jpg

IMG_4338.jpg

IMG_4354.jpg

Unfortunately, the aroma of this beer is rather lackluster because besides of the aroma of citrus fruits I couldn’t smell anything else in it. Maybe some hoppy aromas, but at a minimum level.

The taste is definitely refreshing, with the citrus fruits known from the aroma and a little spicy taste from jalapeno peppers in the back. But this is quite pleasant, not overwhelming. I’m pretty sure that the bull testicles doesn’t impact the taste. Or maybe I simply don’t know what to look for, since I have no experience in tasting this ingredient. I would say that this is not a typical IPA, but I’m afraid this may be the effect of an autosuggestion. The bitterness is medium but quite pleasant, I’m under the impression that it is raised up by the jalapenos. The saturation is average.

IMG_4330.jpg

Well, what can I say to sum up - Corripa was quite a disappointment for me. It is very refreshing but it is very weak for an IPA. Moreover, it is definitely not a good New England. The listed ingredients are not detectable, the only exception is jalapeno peppers. So, the beer is rather averaged but highly refreshing.

See how the www.ratebeer.com evaluates this beer

stopka_logo.png

Sort:  

Well, some beers have to be bad so that we appreciate the good ones. But bulls testicals? Why? Just why??

I'm asking that myself also... And I cannot find a good reason. Maybe the marketing purposes are the answer.

Bull Balls! Well, it sold the beer this time. But it is funny. But it doesn't sound like one to buy again. Probably not even to take to a party. As a Gift? :-)) Cheers!

Well, like I wrote in the review, it is very refreshing beer, so it may be good for very hot summer days. But I'm starting to think that the testicles are there only for marketing purposes. Which makes this beer nothing special in the end.

This post received upvote from @tipU :) | Voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54