Seven Day Beer Challenge Day 4 & 5 - Twofor Edition

in #beersaturday6 years ago

Yesterday I passed out right after work, so today will be a twofor.

Beer #4 - Red Racer - Lowrider - Sugar Plum.

lowrider1.jpg

I've been holding on to this for a while, because I'm a lactard and this beer uses lactose as a sugar that doesn't break down in the brewing process, adding some sweetness. So today I decided to pop some pills and poured a glass.

lowrider.jpg

The Low Rider series is a low alcohol Berliner Weisse style of beers. This was their winter edition, as the name implies. The nose on this one was all sweetness and Plum aromas. It poured with a pinkish hue and looked a bit like ruby red grapefruit juice with a small amount of head that dissipated fairly quickly.

sp.jpg

The flavour finished with a bit of vanilla and the plum sweetness, but hit with a tart puckering to start. Refreshing, fruity, tart and sweet. This would be just as good on a summer day on a patio.

Keeping with the winter theme:
Beer #5 - Anderson Valley - Winter Solstice Seasonal Ale
beerlogoav.jpg

A While ago some 'Instagram friends' came up to Canada from California and we agreed to get together for a beer and do a little trade. They brought up some great beers to share and said this was a favourite they keep stocked in the winters. I was pretty stoked to try it for that reason. It was by no means a bad beer, but I've got to admit, I'm staying away from the winter ales in the future. I think they're over done, or I over did them at one point. They just don't appeal to me that much. Once in a blue moon maybe. I didn't mind this one, but it was the only one I had this year. The caramel and spice flavours just aren't what I'm generally looking for in a beer. So though I was a bit disappointed, if you're into the 'winter warmer' thing, give it a shot.

heady.jpg

Unlike the beer above, this obviously had no problem with a thin head. Of course it wasn't my best pour either!

Here are the rules:

-You have to try a new beer every day, for 7 days
-The beer must be something you have never tasted before
-You must put a photo of the beer and write a few words about it
-Nominate someone every day
-If you are a social outcast with no friends to invite like myself, you just join the fun. You have every excuse to drink
-Use the tag "#sevendaybeerchallenge" as one of your five tags.

If you are a beer fan, (I assume you are if you're reading this) also check out my posts a couple back. I'm attempting a contest and would like as many people to join in as possible. Why not make a bit of money for drinking and sharing your beer?!

Cheers!

Sort:  

Two very different, kinda interesting beers. Did you drink them on the same day? I don't know if that makes a difference - just curious. But thanks for the info.

No, I'll be honest, I cheated on this one. I had the Anderson Valley a while ago. Haven't been feeling great, and didn't want to push it. They were very different though. The Winter Solstice wasn't overly interesting, your average winter ale in my opinion. The Sugar Plum was different though.
Today I am on beer #2 and will post about both tonight.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 02:34:53
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 10.15/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77