Zeke's Sweet Hops - Old Favourites

zekes-hops.jpg

Man have I had a bunch of good beer lately! I have also been unintentionally ignoring my friend @detlev's #beersaturday tags and contests. Regular followers know, most of my posts could be tagged #beersaturday but I like to spread my drinkin around like the support of different STEEMit platforms and tags. https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@detlev/70-weeks-join-the-worldwide-beer-lover-community-the-steemit-beersaturday-challenge Hit up that post and by all means participate as it is fun, the community is great, and beer is life.

As a quick introduction for those new to my blow, I love beer. Always have. As I develop wisdom (at a slower rate due to my penchant for adventure) I have found that I no longer crush 6 beers in a sitting. So, I prefer a beer that tastes like 6 beers. Hence, my love of hoppy, bold and strong IPAs.

As fall settles in, I have strayed from my quest for lighter, more refreshing IPAs, APAs and ISAs and returned to some old favourites. Perhaps my pallet has changed? Perhaps the recipe has changed? Perhaps I would miss my old standbys?

IMG_4563.jpg

Muskoka - Mad Tom IPA - https://muskokabrewery.com/beer/mad-tom-ipa/ Back when IPAs were the fringe beer, Muskoka brewed Mad Tom. I remembered only being able to drink one in an evening and it was such a challenge. Many years have passed since I have had a Mad Tom so I grabbed a couple for the fridge, and my mouth! It did resemble an old friend and wasn't a challenge to drink at all. I actually was playing some Tom Clancy's The Division with friends while drinking it and remarking how good it still was.

IMG_4580.jpg

Central City Brewing - Red Racer IPA - https://centralcitybrewing.com/product/red-racer-ipa/ It has been a number of years since I have gotten into this west coast beauty. There was a time when this and maybe a couple other IPAs were all you could count on getting at the liquor store here. Since then, EVERYONE has an IPA and the guy who does the beer buying has really stepped up his game. It almost gets overshadowed by all the other IPAs nowadays but is still there on the same shelf it was back then. Strong and fresh despite the travel across the country as it was back then. Not much has changed with this one either and it was another trip down memory lane.

IMG_4538.jpg

Sawdust City Brewing - Lone Pine IPA - https://www.sawdustcitybrewing.com/our-beer/lone-pine-west-coast-ipa/ This is a newer favourite (relatively speaking) and is a delicious west coast style IPA brewed right here in Ontario in cottage country. It tastes a lot like my other favourites and I never have to wonder whether or not I should get it. With experimenting to much in the last few months, I hadn't bought it for a while so I HAD to add it to my old favourites purchase. So damn good. Agressively hopped and exploding with flavour is definitely right on the nose and probably the reason it is constantly in my top 10 at any given time.

IMG_4489.jpg

Nickelbrook Brewing - Headstock IPA - https://nickelbrook.com/our-beers/head-stock/ This has had a place in my heart and my top 3 of all time at any given time. As you can see from the summer picture below, I get it rather regularly even when I am exploring other beer purchases. Mosaic and Galaxy hops seem to be in my preferred IPAs because of the strong and sweet flavour they add. I would be heartbroken if I could not drink IPA anymore but this is the one I would take with me to a deserted isle. Definitely Zeke's pick!

Well that is my #beersaturday trip down memory lane. There are so many new beers to discover and good ones I have not had yet that it is easy to forget the classics. As winter settles in, I will be adding these back into the regular rotation and maybe seek out some seasonals and double IPAS in the next few trips!

cheers.jpg

What is your current favourite beer?

Sort:  

@zekepickleman, it is such a fun to read your posts.:) You are really a real beer lover. Cheers!

Btw, when I read your articles, I improve my english. I learn a lot of new words and interesting phrases.

Posted using Partiko Android

We will have you talking like a Canadian redneck in no time!

Ha-ha. I will be glad to!
Btw, I like saying "Howdy" instead of "Hello". When I was in Phoenix, Arizona people used to say to each other "Howdy". I liked it. Is there something like this, but a Canadian one?

Posted using Partiko Android

If Letterkenny https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Letterkenny_(TV_series) is a barometer of Canadianisms, then it would be "How are ya now?"

YES told you so. Beersaturday it is. Oh beerallthetime could be a New tag 👍

That would be my tag for sure!

DONE DEAL.... we Will claim it but can I please have winoweek?

Nice doing business with you

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by (LoD)Zeke from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99