Beliefs

in #beliefs6 years ago

Sorry I know I've been gone for a while and if you've messaged me I promise I'll get back to you eventually. Just wanted to make a short post and wanted to let everyone know I'm fine I've just been really busy with RL obligations. In short maintenance work sucks, having a newborn is awesome but the second is a ton more work and trying to focus more on family time.

A couple of weekends ago my family and I got to take some time to go to the Children's museum. I spent most of the day walking with my daughter strapped to the front of my chest while my wife played/supervised our 2-year-old son. I got to do a lot of people watching and looking around the museum and noticed the below sign as you were leaving one of the rooms.

As someone who was really "strong" or stubborn in his beliefs growing up, I thought anyone who didn't believe like me or had the same values as me was wrong. The more I've grown the and talked to others with different beliefs than me, the more I realize sometimes there is no right and wrong. Just different ideas on how to solve similar problems.

It has been freeing in a way. I've come to really enjoy discussing issues with those who have other beliefs than me. I don't discuss with everyone though because some people get angry or take it personalyl. I've come to enjoy meeting and befriending those of a different culture who have different beliefs and values that are different. It has definitely helped me grow as a person and human being and has even changed my view on a select few issues.

What are your thoughts on the quote above? Have you ever had such an "awakening" if you will.

Sort:  

In my work at a multinational's headoffice I worked with over 30 countries and it helps if you know their culture and views a little upfront of speaking someone. Diplomacy they call this. A thing getting scarse nowadays.

You got a 23.68% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @gniksivart!

I'm pretty much in line with that thinking...Welcome back from your break.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84