The Lion's share

in #bescouted6 years ago (edited)

bescouted_photo.jpg

A painting I did last year now sold.

In my continual need to use animals in my art I love to sometimes play with that thin wire of danger. There are some animals who would not happily be our pets, yet we are intrigued by them and often use them in Vegas or circus acts.

I wanted to capture the tranquility and pastoral beauty of a sunny garden and a child's delight with just a hairwidth level of tension as one begins to unfold their own various stories of what might be coming.

I love art with story. Although it might not be 'correct' when I visit museums I cannot help but spin yarns and tales to accompany the characters and places in art. Even in abstractions, the mind builds and spins webs of adventure, deceit, or love.

Having been incapacitated over the past few days with my wretched foot, I have been looking through some older pieces for consideration in adding them to my Singularity series. I feel this painting is ripe for 'conversion' to my series.

This piece is a sold piece. It was done first in sketches and some acrylic studies, but the final piece was done digitally, printed, then more application added and it's in private hands now. But, as the piece is digitally preserved, I can happily add to it and change it to fit into my growing Singularity obsession.

Now, I am off to a busy day, as I have to somehow manage to drive today with my bound foot! Needs must when the devil drives, as they say.

If you like my work by all means upvote and share and do leave comments, I Love comments.


Check out my other posts:


asteemitfooter.jpg

bescouted.gif

Sort:  

I really like the colors here.
I drove home from ice skating once after skating so long my right foot was completely numb...like a sleeping foot that would not wake...that is what the other foot is for! ;) Hope it all worked out well, anyway.

exactly. Driving is a bit tricky, but thank goodness I got an automatic!

Looking forward to so much more of this amazing content and visual stimulation ! Heal up and climb those stairs to the studio and create, create, create!!!

I know, I shall try. And thanks for the discourse intro. :)

Always! You can now see we almost never shut up hahah! Looking forward to a chat again, DM me when you are online!

Congratulations n your sale! I love the contrast of the innocent child and wild animal you use in your painting!

Thank you. I love that contrast, just on the edge of the surreal.

It is very effective!

I particularly love the ambiguity of the cat she's holding... is it a regular housecat, or is it a lion cub? We get to make up our own story about that!

Congratulations on selling the piece! Always exciting to send one of our creations out into the world.

Thank you, it was what I was going for too. It is a lion cub esque but with the hint of a housecat. I like the viewer to try and decipher the scene :)

Such a lovely painting! Very poetic ambiance. Congratulations on the sale.

Sorry to hear you hurt your foot. Hope its not painful.

The painting is beautiful. I love the scenery and the light is spectacular. A work of art one can look at for a long time!

It is a lot of green, but I love a lush garden so half of the fun is imagining myself in the scene over the weeks it took me to paint it :)

Driving with that foot!! Ah! Good luck. Lion and baby lion in a little garden are perfect for singularity serie. You could add flying watches and secret box with machinery in the girl's head.

And maybe a partially mechanical king of the jungle. Could he be trusted???

I'm thinking of leaving the lion 'real' and giving him a helper.

I have a few ideas for it. I'll probably make a few studies of ideas and share them with steemit and see what steemit thinks :) The foot driving was...interesting.

I do love the tension in that piece. Look behind, little girl, look behind. Mother is watching. As I mentioned to @sandrina.life below, maybe a mechanical lion would work. Then again, having a live one running about in the ruin, behind the Singularityites, much like in Twelve Monkeys, to muck with the works and cause tension, might be more edgy. I can visualize it now.

And please be careful driving with a bad foot. I tried to do it once in my Datsun truck with my left foot doing clutch, gas AND brake while the right leg layed out across the seat. It did not end well, though no MAJOR mishap ensued. Luckily I stopped before the fence.

I love that you spin up appropriate stories in museums. That would be a creatively fun, all-day group activity of joy. Maybe someday I can join you for a long, fun day of make-up storytelling.

Well technically, 'father is watching' as it's a male lion back there, I thought it more fierce. I also thought the piece a sort of play on the 'lion and lamb' story.

Bad foot driving was interesting. It is an automatic, thank goodness, so I used my left for the brake and my bad foot for gas, but there is a sort of raised carpeted bump next my accelerator so I was able to sort of rest my very taped and double socked foot on it. It was not fun, but I had to go check on my rental cottage.

I'd live a double dd day out! Too bad you live on the 'wrong' side of the usa ;) and when I travel I go even further east! Someday, maybe. Or, I could skype with you whilst in London and we could look at things together. Maybe I'd tape my surface to a little robot roomba and you could 'follow' me around the V & A portrait gallery :)

I'm all in for a museum visit, no matter how it's done. What fun we could have making things up and probably doing a bit of laughing as well. And the roomba and a gopro sounds about ideal. "Madame, what is that little round thing following you around the Museaum"? "Oh, that's a virtual Schteinnbot, we're doing an art walk n' talk, entertaining ourselves to no end". Would they let us stay?
Glad you did not take out any fences with sore-foot driving. Good job on that. TTFN

A pleasing painterly style, have a good day.

Thanks, I do love painterly :)

What a beautiful piece, it really inspires a lot of calm the stillness of the animals and together with the green and the depth of the site make you want to immerse yourself in the painting.

Otherwise, the technique is amazing, it is incredible as in digital you can make it look like a real oil painting.

Thank you. I basically paint pretty much the same digitally, I have a 'palette' and mix the oils and just use different brushes and such. It's almost sort of zen watching the 'paint' morph and move on the screen. You forget sometimes its not real canvas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01