mum and calf type B orca

in #bescouted5 years ago

Well, orca are my favourite to interact with in the wild. Even if it is a 530am call to my room on the ship from a co-worker in the bridge to say he has contact with a huge pod of Type B orca. Up I get, dressed, grabbed my camera and binoculars and BOOM, a perfect way to start your first day of expeditions on the Antarctic Peninsula.

As the pod decided to turn and interact with our ship we noticed that there was indeed some young, young calves next to a few females. It wasn't until I sorted through about 500 photos, which I took from that morning that I realized that there was a few wee babies in the pod. The one pictured below looks to be maybe a year old, if that and it was amazing to watch how close it sticks to its mother through the entire encounter.

Fingers crossed we get to encounter more of these animals in the following months, as I only have another 3 months of exploring this continent and all the species there that call it home


IMG_3316-1.jpg
Click image to view full size


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

Thomas, because every other photographer out there wants to know, are you team Canon or Nikon?

hahaha! Currently, I guess I am team canon - I am shooting with a canon 7D with a 100-400mm lens

Nice. I’m a die hard Canon fan myself, and I’ve had a long line of Canon cameras, both digital and film over the years. My current go to body is my 80D, which for telephoto work I pair with a 70 -200mm and 2x converter. With the 80D’s ASP-C sensor adding an extra x1.6, I end up with the equivalent of a 224-640mm zoom with only a modest loss of speed.

That is a nice set up you got there. Currently, my sensor on the 7D is starting to fail on me, which sucks because trying to get a new camera whilst I am working down in this part of the world is difficult. I am thinking about buy a 7D mark II and hopefully, my head office can get it sent to me in the next few weeks

Type B Orca? Didn't knew about that; how many types are there?

In the southern ocean you there is 5 types/ecotypes of orca: Type A, Small type B and Large type B, Type C & Type D

Always learning! Thanks!

really amazing, thanks for sharing!

Thanks! I am happy you enjoyed the photo & post

wow, I agree, a fab way to start your day & that even before the coffee ;)
Stunning picture, 🐲💗🐉i hope the rest of the 499 pictures will be showed for us here on steemit :D

haha! Thanks! it was a great way to wake up that is for sure. I will put up a few from time to time. I do have a crazy amount of penguin photos too & hopefully will get more Orca and whale photos over the next few months that I will be down here

:D in my case i wouldent have manidge to get my cloths on before coffee LOL :P
Awsomesause, il be waiting to see them :D Aw penguins too? your picking points fast now ha ha
I do prefear orca once but a good whale fluke is always stunning :D 🐲🐉💗

hahaha!! I know what you mean. Penguins are quite adorable and great photograph subjects. I will do my best to keep them coming and hopefully have a few whale tail shots for you in the next few days, as we head back towards the peninsula and should be there sometime tomorrow evening

;) In my case, i like penguins AS they stand stillllll !! ;) LOL can thow get a bit beaky if you move to close & to fast ^^
Please do, i soo like your work :D woohoo tails will be coming :D
How long time will you be out this time???

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62613.51
ETH 3019.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93