Have a Miracle Morning

in #bestpractices8 years ago (edited)

After reading @stellabelle's famous post https://steemit.com/steemit/@stellabelle/how-i-made-usd12-000-in-one-month-on-steemit I have committed myself to writing AT LEAST one post per day.  I view this as a way to commit to the platform and also as a way to practice/hone my syntax/markdown skills.  

One of My Best Practices

Today I just want to share a book that has had a profound impact on my life.  I've told many people about it that I know personally.  All too often I think many of us assume that once we've discovered something, other people already know about it or maybe it's not worth sharing for whatever reason.  This book is called The Miracle Morning.  I have it on both audio book through Audible and a physical copy.  The steps are so easy and can be summarized as such:

All humans are emotional, physical, intellectual, and spiritual beings - whether we like it or not

In order for these things to be in harmony - and especially in today's insane world of distractions - we need to reserve time, even just a a minute a day!, for each of these aspects.

The 'Miracle Morning' is a block of time set aside for the SAVERS, an acronym for the following exercises, which the author, Hal Elrod, goes into detail about in the book:

- S is for Silence: Get out of bed, sit down, focus on your breathing, and try to think of nothing (meditate).  Try it for just a minute at first, then go for longer.

- A is for Affirmations: Say OUT LOUD positive things about yourself and who/what you want to become.  I'll admit, I was skeptical at first, truly.  But this is now one of my favorites.  Hal has a good page full of a sample affirmation.

- V is for Visualization: There are a few ways to do this.  You can think of things you desire in your mind, whether it be a physical thing like a house or a car or something a little more dynamic like walking on stage with a guitar and having people cheer your name.  Or, you can create a visualization board with cutouts and printouts and whatnot of things you desire.  This is my personal weak spot and I need to better hone my V skills.

- E is for Exercise: You get the drill... the author likes to run and do yoga.  I'm a bodybuilder so I lift weights, cycle, and am working on getting my running mileage up.

- R is for Reading: I love reading but must admit I don't read as much as I used to... mostly work related these days :(.

- S is for Scribing: He had to use a thesaurus on this one!  Scribing is a fancy word for writing.  Write in a journal, write a book, write in this blog, or just write down some quotes you like.  As in all things, it's totally up to you.

start 

small!!

But start today!

Do a minute for each of these a day, see how you like it, and continue on if you'd like.  Become a better human.  The future belongs to us :)

p.s. It's called The Miracle Morning because the author recommends, as do I, that it be done in the morning before anything else.  This jumpstarts your body, mind, and spirit, and sets the pace for your entire day. 

Sort:  

Ive made the same type of dedication and making it part of your schedule helps. Personalized writings with citation help and thinking each post with criticism to consider improvement for the next as well. My crap posts are evolving with experience.

I agree, thanks for the comment. I'm learning that it takes time, practice, and dedication - like anything in life. My best benefit of Steemit thus far is just that it has finally gotten me to commit to writing. I've been wanting to blog for so long now, I just didn't have the technical know-how (or time really) to look into WordPress or whatever else is needed to start. Loving this platform... I can't say it enough!

Me too! I just needed a platform with incentives to push me that last inch. With practice, we only get better, right?

For doing V-visualization you can put sheet of paper on mirror where brush your teeth after you are awake or go to bed that way you start your day with those things you want and you go to bed wiht it. Great tool for your subconsious mind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59