Bias is interesting as to how it is embedded in one’s subconscious.

in #bias6 years ago

Bias is interesting as to how it is embedded in one’s subconscious.

While growing up, like many, I wanted to be a fireman. That phase was short lived. Decades after when there was a push to include women as firefighters there was the controversy about qualifications.

Many men complained that women could not lift a ladder, drag a hose, etc. Now, I can’t remember exactly the requirements that needed to be changed, but I do remember the argument against the traditional requirements.

Some felt the requirements were sexist and in favor of men who were generally physically stronger. The strength requirements were not really needed to be a firefighter since today’s trucks, equipment, etc. do most of the lifting.

Now, I don’t know if the requirements did change. What I do know is when I read about women firefighters, at the back of my head I think of them as qualifying at a different standard. I may be dead wrong, but there is the bias.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62668.08
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58