Envy Not The WickedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #bible-review5 years ago

Text: Ecclesiastes 8:11-13

Ecclesiastes 8:11 Because sentence against an evil work is not executed speedily, therefore the heart of the sons of men is fully set in them to do evil.
8:12 Though a sinner do evil an hundred times, and his days be prolonged, yet surely I know that it shall be well with them that fear God, which fear before him:
8:13 But it shall not be well with the wicked, neither shall he prolong his days, which are as a shadow; because he feareth not before God.


A lot of times, we strive to do good, as Christians - Obeying the laws of the land, complying with good moral standards in words, in behaviour, in dressing and so on. We uphold and profess our faith in God and call on Him regularly. We even surrender ourselves for service in God's vineyard, attending programmes regularly and encouraging others to do same.

Despite all these, we may not fully see the manifestation of God's numerous blessings and promises in our lives. Instead, we see those who live their lives recklessly and without the fear of God, living lives of affluence and basking in the wealth they've acquired, most times through sinful means. These people are able to get the connections and contracts they desire, they are able to buy whatever they may want, their lives appear to be laced with beauty.

I was once on a queue trying to register myself at an orientation camp. The queue was long and obviously exhausting. My friends went ahead to join the queue in the middle while I, while trying to be fair and do what is morally right, I joined the queue at the very end of it. After hours of waiting to reach my turn, I observed several people jumping the queue and joining before my own spot, hereby keeping me even farther away each time. I observed for a long time and I feared that I might not be attended to that day if I kept that spot. I therefore observed well and jumped forward too. I could not hold my integrity till the end as I saw that others took advantage of me.

God's word however admonishes us not to ever be envious of the prosperity of the wicked. Many benefits are promised to the righteous, but the wicked is destined for doom. The following scriptures encourage us to continue in righteousness and uprightness rather than being deceived into wickesness.

Psalms 37:7 Rest in the LORD, and wait patiently for him: fret not thyself because of him who prospereth in his way, because of the man who bringeth wicked devices to pass.

Proverbs 13:22 A good man leaveth an inheritance to his children's children: and the wealth of the sinner is laid up for the just.

Psalms 34:19 Many are the afflictions of the righteous: but the LORD delivereth him out of them all.
34:20 He keepeth all his bones: not one of them is broken.
34:21 Evil shall slay the wicked: and they that hate the righteous shall be desolate.

Proverbs 14:32 The wicked is driven away in his wickedness: but the righteous hath hope in his death.

Psalms 32:10 Many sorrows shall be to the wicked: but he that trusteth in the LORD, mercy shall compass him about.

Isaiah 45:3 And I will give thee the treasures of darkness, and hidden riches of secret places, that thou mayest know that I, the LORD, which call thee by thy name, am the God of Israel.

Though things may seem not to be working right now, there are promises for God's children who hold on to the faith without wavering or fainting.

Galatians 6:8 For he that soweth to his flesh shall of the flesh reap corruption; but he that soweth to the Spirit shall of the Spirit reap life everlasting.
6:9 And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.

For this reason, let us all stand firm and wait upon God for He is faithful and never fails.

1 Corinthians 15:58 Therefore, my beloved brethren, be ye stedfast, unmoveable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, forasmuch as ye know that your labour is not in vain in the Lord.



IMG_20190210_192719_261.jpg

Thank you so much for visiting my blog. I appreciate your contributions


@tolustx

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97