Bots are not profitable at this moment

in #bid-bots6 years ago

I got the payout from a post last night and noticed that I barely broke even on that post (ROI 3.5%). Even after using my strat which yields me lions share of the post (in this case 87%), I am still able to barely break even. This is because of dropping steem prices and the way rewards are being given out. I am getting a big share of my total payout in steem now that reduces my ROI. This share has been growing quite fast making my profits slim.

Since most of my rewards come from bid bots, and they are not profitable at this point, I won't be using bid bots a lot until dynamics change. I will only use them if I see myself making a profit out of it. I will probably not be posting as often because there is no monitory incentive for me to do so and only a few people read what I write. I will write another post when I start using bot extensively again.

If you still want me to keep writing about other stuff, leave a comment, so I know someone is reading.

Sort:  

It does suck a lot when the price tanks and you are waiting on payouts.

It does suck a lot
When the price tanks and you are
Waiting on payouts.

                 - mysearchisover


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Its not just the price. Its the payout split in steem too. Tomorrow it will be even worse.

Yep. I wonder if we will be forced into 100% Steem payouts.

If sbd hits 1 dollar, then it will be fine. Wont really matter

Yes, I can see that playing the bot game is making things hard to track, especially with the drop in prices. I've put in some good amounts into bots and got something of what I thought is actually good returns on them, but in a week or less, it could be trivial at the current course this currency price is running. I am hoping for the HODL comeback where I have a good amount of STEEM that is suddenly worth more.

On the other hand, if you have cash to convert to SBD right now, it is quite a bargain. The challenge is that there is no easy way to do that. I've gotta get the cash into into BTC or ETH or something that will trade into SBD or STEEM. The point of entry really makes it harder for the average user to join.

Buying and transfering steem is a problem. I am holding 40 steem that i will convert to sbd when it hits 1$

I agree with you. I have probably upvoted myself out of profitt too A couple of times :p

Yea, its a tricky game. I spent almost half an hour today convincing brandonfrye, how all bots are broken and not giving the promised ROI.

You got a 14.99% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @mightypanda!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

I would like to learn more about your strategy one day. I am not here for the money, but it is a nice side benefit and being a German, I like to be efficient with the things I do.

That aside, I highly suggest that you use your newfound free time and take part in my 100 Comments Challenge. You might be able to find some interesting people and new readers for you content that way. It's also fun.

My strat is all laid out in my previous blog posts. If you are interested in making money, that should help. With my new found time, i will focus on the project i am building to maximize your influence here. Hopefully i can deploy it soon.

I can see that you really are here mostly for the money and I can respect that. To me, Steemit at this point is more of a hobby, but I wouldn't mind if the money I make while being here would add up to sizable amounts in the end, so reading your posts might end up being worth my while.

I will follow you and read up on them later. Until then, I have 40 more posts to make.

I am here because of their complex economy. Money here is not worth much but untangling the mystery is fun.

Interesting. I am not here for that long yet, so I still have to wrap my head around the economy of this place, but I'm getting there.

What do you mean with the money not being worth much here? Are you referring to the exchange rates going down like they are?

No, organically money is not that much. I made 3 cents on this post before curation, rest i bought using bot.

Aaaah, yeah, I see what you mean, from that perspective, what you say is obviously true.

I am not a big fan of bots myself, as I said. I find that they do have a negative impact on quality of posts and communication, which is sad. But I can deal with it, I think.

You gave him a 50% Upvote that got him nothing, while you are trying to help h make money... Isn't it ironic...

If i gave him 100%, that wont get paid out either because minimum is 2.5 cents. I gave him upvote to show appreciation. You dont make money collecting cents, u make money knowing the system.

Spoke like a wise man... My bad.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mightyPanda from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I did notice this as well. Hopefully the market will recover soon. At this point it is not profitable at all.

I have stopped using bid bots mostly for now. If they change their code in account for steem chamges, i will use them again.

You got a 46.46% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @mightypanda! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP Earn 1.25 SBD Per 1000 SP | Discord server

I always read your posts my man. I was in class this week so I could not respond like I normally do. I will catch up this weekend on my comments though.

The price drop in steem has definitely affected the profit margins on posts. Most bots are not selling out their steem power now because less people are posting. I still post but not as frequently using bid bots.

I have found a different way of making money here, not using bots, i like the results so far, i will write about it soon. I still intent to use bots but once things clear up. Until then, its quite unsafe.

I look forward to hearing about it. How are things coming along with you other strategy on curation rewards?

I am hovering around paying 15% curation right now. I will read their code once i get some time to see ho to refine it further. Hopefully you are getting some decent curation rewards from upvoting my utopian post now.

Hi,

I have been blogging everyday for the past 12 days without thinking about the bot not giving me ROI profit.
I will wait to use the bot til when the SBD changes up.

I will write a post when they become profitable again, for now stay away for bots.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81