An important and relevant sentence that can be found in the Steem whitepaper

in #bidbots6 years ago (edited)

You can find the whitepaper here

Every vesting user casts their votes on who did the best work and at the end of the day the available money for that day is divided proportional to the votes such that everyone with even one net positive vote gets something.

casts their votes on who did the best work


So it would appear that the creator of Steem intended for votes to be cast towards users who did the best work. NOT who ever placed the biggest bid.

All the curation rewards earned through selling votes ought to be redistributed across the community, for they are supposed to be rewards earned for voting fairly, and vote selling is not fair.

Sort:  

One of the numerous indications of a backbone those without one will brush off-hand with "That's clearly subjective".

Lol. The thing is I will give them that it is. "work" in this context likely does not refer to just content creating, but community building too. But it most certainly does not mean buying. Work and purchasing something are too very different things, so subjectiveness doesn't even matter at this point.

What about the people who are paid to shop?

Forgive I'm still newish here

Why is there a built in promote your post button. Basically a bid bot but built into site...

People like to complain about bots alot.. but what are people to do to have their posts seen and not burried?

Have you seen this post?
https://steemit.com/bidbots/@fyrstikken/bidbots-they-do-not-drain-the-steem-rewardpool

Perhaps we should have a conversation when you better understand how things operate here. Yes, I have seen the post. If you had read the comments you should know that, as I am still waiting for bidbot advocates to address the points I made there.

So much hostility here. Sorry I commented. Pardon my ignorance.

Yes I apologise if it sounded hostile. It was not supposed to. I am just in a separate conversation with someone who is being hostile and so condescension may have leaked into this conversation.

Promote their post with the function that you pointed out. Do you understand how curation works or the abysmal difference between bidbots/vote-selling and promote button and Curation? because you have your answer right there.

Have you seen this post?
https://steemit.com/bidbots/@fyrstikken/bidbots-they-do-not-drain-the-steem-rewardpool

Yeah, have you read his comments?

Sorry, but you seem a bit hostile for some reason... I wasn't trying to argue. I started my comment off with forgive me I am still newish here.

I don't know how everything works. I was asking questions but also making uneducated statements.

Why is there a built in promote your post button. Basically a bid bot but built into site...

People like to complain about bots alot.. but what are people to do to have their posts seen and not burried?

Have you seen this post?
https://steemit.com/bidbots/@fyrstikken/bidbots-they-do-not-drain-the-steem-rewardpool

These can be read as three separate questions/statements. Forgive me if I don't know everything. Not looking to argue. If you want to attempt to answer the questions without condescension I am all ears.

Bid bots in my opinion are just a promotion tool. You can either use them or don't. There will always be a way to sell votes etc. All social media has ways to promote your posts pretty much.

Can you tell me what was condescending?

I just apologised to this person after them making the same accusation of hostility, but now I went back and read my comment after reading this and it is fine. They seem to be up to something..

You might have been fine but I probably came off like a prick that understands the difference between vote-selling/bidbots and promotion button and the function of Curation which I'm lording over them from my superior understanding, which I am completely ok with, not proud, not overjoyed but neither regretful in the least.

Now can we come to the conclusion that it is almost nothing which we can do about it...

How do you feel about curation trails and places like qurator and steembasicincome?

Steemit reminds me of the Xbox game "Fable", which is also a microcosm of life in general. You can choose a path of good or evil, and either of those paths has rewards and consequences. The path of good means you work twice as hard for half the benefits, but you get to feel good about yourself. The path of evil means you work half as hard for twice the benefits and you get to feel good about yourself because you don't give a fuck.

lt's probably almost trolling to link to this but you are one of the people who has got me thinking and I've just done a post you may not approve of...

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@frot/introduce-yourself-to-www-frot-co-nz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95