PERSONAL AFFAIR: From the moment I said YES, look how far we've come #storytime

in #bigwaves6 years ago (edited)

I will not be silent
I will always worship you
As long as I am breathing
I will always worship you

Here is a decision I made long ago to worship just one man I call my “Superman”. He’s been there for me all round. I remember my growing up, when I was about 10 exactly. There was an altar call for people to give their lives to God but my little heart was wondering the meaning of it all.

As a young child, I was so curious about who God was. I remember I would stop the Bible study teacher to explain the full concept of divinity. It was all just so bizarre and strange to my young heart. Back to that day the altar call was made, I said in my heart, “I’ll give my life to him, when I marry at least when I’m done with schooling”.

yes.jpg
SOURCE

My young heart, so naive at the goodies I was giving away. The real life I wanted to throw away for ephemeral fun activities. Two years after that, I was twelve (12), I got the whole concept clearly. I was not a bad child all along, I was just a moralist. Then I gave my life to him, but you remember that syndrome of giving and taking it back (chuckles). That raising your hand up when there is a chance to say the sinners’ prayer because your friends are doing it.

188861_140836589317556_455654_n.jpg
[SOURCE](Original Image)

Finally, at the age of fourteen (14), there was this handsome medical student that took over Bible study class (what my orthodox Baptist church would call Sunday School teacher). Oh! He was so fine, and you remember it was every young girl’s dream to marry a doctor or at least a professional as at that time. He was so adept at the word and he took His time in explaining the word to us. Looking back, he was my everyday crush oooo! See, young teenager crushing over final year medical doctor.

But in my tender heart then, who said love would never happen?

Fast forward, he was a teacher who loved his teens with no strings attached ooo. No ulterior motives (as opposed to now). He showed us all the way to God. He tutored us all and showed us the way to the cross. Back to the story, I was one of the teens’ fellowship executives. Eeerm, so he got really interested in my president and I (assistant president) pouring the whole of himself into us. Teaching us core Christian principles. Owwwww! He was sound (Hello, I ain’t crushing no more, he’s married!).

One of those days, he asked me if I had given my life to Christ and I said yes but it wasn’t a sound yes. So he gave me a book, “Welcome to God’s Family”, by Kenneth E. Hagin! Oh! That book blessed me immensely. I totally released myself to God. I got to understand what I was missing – the importance of having a personal relationship with God. The importance of hearing God speak. I was taken aback to realize all the dividends and promises I had in God! Oct 4, 2014, I finally released myself to God and it’s been from glory to glory.

I have learnt so much about this superman called God, our history and chemistry has been forever growing. In fact, his love letter (Bible) to me continually describes his intense love for me. Sending his own son to die for my sin is no joke. He paid an expensive price for me, far too expensive while I was yet a sinner. The most amazing part is not the fact that I love him, but that he first loved me! Mehn, how amazing can it get?

yesIMG688733.jpg
SOURCE

Often times, we start off life’s journey not sure of how it would end, making decisions because of our immediate feelings not looking at the futuristic outcomes. See me, reluctant to give it all to God at that age and how far I have come in Him and the journey to come is farther!

I look back and I say, from the day you saved my life, look how far we come God.

So, many lessons learnt along the way, so many processes I have been through and I would still be through. Little wonder, I have tried to be like others, but I just can’t be… All because he told me I am a SPECIAL BREED.
I can’t argue anymore Lord, the fact speaks for itself, indeed I am a special breed.

13537801_1046746815393191_2097761182132936099_n(2).jpg
[SOURCE](Original Image)

I am super grateful for my processes, even for where I will still be because we keep learning and we always keep getting pampered by God.

Hey, God’s been pampering me. Let him do you too. He loves to pamper his children. He’ll do it gladly.

Decide to join me in my Grand style! It keeps getting better!

God is a personal affair, get personal with him!

Thank you for visiting my blog.

10897762_772620002805875_5441284663002580320_n.jpg
[SOURCE](Original Image)

Sort:  

Great job @abeem90. This is a well formatted and properly edited article. It is also a wonderful testimony to share! Yes we all have a lot to be grateful for and it's heart warming that you remember how much God has done for you. Keep shinning dear.

#bigwaves

Awwwwwwwn.... Thanks mom... Too many things to be grateful for. Just came to mind to share...

😀😀😀😀😀😀

I almost cried.... Such a beautiful story

@jo5h, my personal Josh, thanks for reading...

you when it has to do with you, i dont just talk, i talk from my heart. You still got that innocent looks. God has indeed been pampering you since forever. You are not just a special breed, you are a breed in a class of its own. well crafted for a specific purpose that sure will be fulfilled. @abeem90 , you are just deep jare. I am monitoring you to learn all the way from you. winks

Oh my! @samotu, you did it again...

Yeah Yeah!

A breed in its own class, crafted for a specific purpose!

I'm super excited about that, cos I know it would come to full manifestation.

You just know how to get to that soft part of my heart... Thanks for always believing in me. Our wife is a super lucky woman! 😀😀😀😀😀😁

My everyday mentor!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60695.64
ETH 2900.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53