Binance API hack spikes Viacoin price, followed by a crypto-wide implosionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #binance6 years ago

It seems that API keys on Binance were exploited, selling peoples' coins and buying Viacoin, causing a massive spike in price:

It seems all cryptos are imploding in response. Bitcoin dropped from $10,699 to $9,450 in 2 hours.

One Redditor's account of it:

"Many accounts got hacked I think, then they pumped VIA price using other's money. I saw the pump myself some twenty mins back, it rose from 3500 to 18000 in a matter of two mis or so. I was panicking then I realised it's a PnD but didn't know these groups could be this strong. Today I witnessed it though. And so many accounts getting hacked at the same time tells me they used these acounts' [sic] balances to pump"

https://www.reddit.com/r/BinanceExchange/comments/82ou1d/binance_sold_all_my_alt_coins_at_market_rate/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60648.94
ETH 2906.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60