How Sound Saved Sanity

When I was about 13 years young I started showing major attention deficits. I could not focus, I could not follow one train of thought because my train was moving over every track too fast. Music seemed to be the only thing that would keep my focus for hours.

The doctor decided to put me on medication. Amphetamines... It helped to some degree; gave me motivation and energy but I still lacked focus. That was when I decided to tune in to something that changed my life in an amazing way… They're called "Binaural Beats"

In the most simplest explanation, two tones at slightly different frequencies are played in different ears with headphones. The closeness in wavelength creates an audible "beat" that actually is not there. Your brain then syncs with this beat in rhythm (in theory) and you have manipulated your brainwaves to a desired frequency.

Here's the breakdown:
How do these frequencies work?
All electrical equipment runs at certain frequencies. Our brain is a sophisticated piece of electrical equipment that also runs and gives off frequencies. These frequencies are known as brainwaves and are measured in Hertz (Hz). When the body is in a state of activity or stress, the speed of our brainwaves increase, The speed decreases when we are just kicking back at home. This is basically how binaural beats work, except it's focus is stimulating the brain.
When we are totally awake, our brains run at somewhere between 20-200Hz. When the brain is relaxed but still aware, this is known as the Beta State. Here, brainwaves run at around 20-25Hz. When we are in a deep state of relaxation the brain runs at approximately 8-10Hz. This is the Alpha State. When you're "dead-to-the-world" recovering while you sleep, the brain runs at approximately 4Hz, known as the Delta State.
Binaural beats lead the brain to a desired state by sending slightly different tones to each ear through a stereo signal. That doesn't mean go blast 200hz in you're ear hoping to save money on coffee every morning. It's actually the Difference between the two tones your brain trains to. So, as an example, if we send 200Hz to the left ear and 220Hz to the right ear, the brainwaves respond by vibrating at the difference between the two tones, which in this case is 20hz. This is called ‘Frequency Following Response.’
After learning this I gave it a shot. I was annoyed, at first, until the sounds faded like white noise. For once my subconscious was entertained by this strange rhythm enough for me to keep my conscious thoughts on one track...

Sort:  

I actually fooled around with the sound frequencies like that back in the eighties, and the deal I had a pair of glasses that were completely black and would flash little light blasts that you could see even with your eyes closed.
Did you discover this own your own? I doubt the doctor had anything to do with it.

Oh yes, I have heard of that as well!! Did you like using the glasses? And yes. It started when I was told my brain was wired differently and I wanted to know what brainwaves were and if i could just 'ZAaAp' myself better. Glad I hadn't done that!

The glasses were really cool and synced to the beats it was really nice and made for a great experience.
Hey, in the comment you made on my post, you mentioned something to the effect of holding back your thoughts because of other social media experience, here on steemit you are free to say what you want, there is no censorship from the people who developed it, if you say something here that doesn't sit well with the people, it won't get you banned or suspended.

That is actually very cool.
Thanks!! I did read that but I suppose Im not use to Not being cencored. Even at work and home.. i have to be careful. Lol so I can say whatever the fuck I want?

You can say what ever the fuck you want to whom ever the fuck you want too. That is the way it works, but just remember, they have the same option as well.

Haha! Thats good advice Ill hold on to!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68728.62
ETH 3843.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65