You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Life is Data: Survival Instincts And Their Role In Preserving Life

in #biology7 years ago

It's an interesting way to look at things. I really like it.

I'm in the process of having my entire DNA fully mapped. I'm sure instincts they'll find, but I expect a number of other interesting finds.

Great post!

Sort:  

They won't find any instincts in your DNA mapping but they will identify genes that might affect some Fixed Action Patterns. — aka instincts.

Thanks. It's going to be very interesting. I get the final results in December.

The word "data" in your posting threw me off a bit, as I have a formal definition of that in my head. I like "Action Patterns" better, or data and procedures that operate on data. Or even information in stead of data. Consider this I must. Engineer's burden, I suppose 8-).

Many of these Action Patterns we learn by generalising observations; it would be impractical to rethink every time if a brick falls up or down. They are not all built-in at birth, I mean.

data and procedures that operate on data.

I thought this was communicated fairly well.

Many of these Action Patterns we learn by generalising observations; it would be impractical to rethink every time if a brick falls up or down. They are not all built-in at birth, I mean.

aka instincts
loops if you like

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63648.37
ETH 3125.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87