You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Depression and the brain - new electrical stimulation findings

in #biology5 years ago

Would you say it correlates to boredom? Motivation? Frustration? Self-esteem? All of those and more?

I am all about the behavior kind of treatment, although I must admit I fall in 'I need to drink this... or eat this...' states that weigh on my mind.

And, surprisingly, depression comes to me due to over-stimulation with what I want. Can I want something better, then? For myself and for the others? As of now, yes, I can. So I should.

I haven't known real depression myself, I must also admit. So I don't quite understand it.

Sort:  

I would not say it correlates to boredom since brain imaging of boredom and depression is not the same but I guess there are similarities in behavior because people with depression can not do anything which is often portrayed as boredom or laziness even though they really can not do anything. They do not have even strengths in their muscle and sleeping patterns change. People with depression can sleep over 15 hours in day. Chemicals in the body need to be treated. I do know some people who managed to help themselves without medication but the statistics say they are a minority. Even with the medication, you have to work hard and invest time and work, people do not. Without medication, that work needs to be 24/7 and I am skeptical because I have seen more people not doing anything than those who try.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63313.23
ETH 3079.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89