Travel Day

in #birding6 years ago

GREG.JPG
Great Egret Ardea alba from Scarborough Marsh yesterday. Photos today just random shots that didn't make it into earlier posts, but ones I like.

No birding today as I was up early to catch a 6:35 AM flight from Boston to Seattle, coming home from my 2 week trip to Maine. I've posted nearly daily while in ME, but it's fun to review the highlights.

COLO.JPG
Common Loon. Gavia immer
Mt. Washington Auto Road on the June 11th was the birding highlight of the trip, as I saw , 2 American Birding Association Area lifers there, Bicknell's Thrush and Yellow-bellied Flycatcher. Seeing these two species was the reason I timed my visit for early to mid June.

RBTR.JPG
Red-billed Tropicbird Phaethon aethereus
One of the things I miss about Maine, as I spent my youth there, are large fields where hay is grown, and I loved seeing Bobolinks in the Sidney Grasslands.

Once I settled down and had some family time to visit, I worked more on learning the eastern U.S. warbler songs. . I never got them all, but by the end of the trip I was feeling like I had a few down fairly well.
Carniv plant.JPG
A carniverous plant, I think a Pitcher Plant, that captures insects with sticky resin in the leaves and eats them.

I really enjoyed getting out with local birders on the two times I had the chance. Don Mairs is a veteran Maine birder who graciously showed me the sites. On the first trip I saw a Maine first species Yellow-throated Vireo.

ATPU.JPG
Atlantic Puffin Fratercula arctica

Later in the trip Don took me to an uncommonly easy to get to boreal forest area.

Whale watching and Seabird Nesting Islands got me out on boats in the Gulf of Maine twice.

I finished strong yesterday with a chance to study . two saltmarsh specialty sparrows in the same saltmarsh.

HUmpback.JPG
Humpback Whale Megaptera novaeangliae waving goodbye with its tail.
Home safely today, a bit of rest and tomorrow I'm off on a Pierce County June Big Day. Stay tuned.

Until next time good birding. Steem on! Also be sure to use #birding for your posts and follow @birdersofsteem where birders can find and support each other on Steemit.

Sort:  

I have read your post and I am impressed for the amazing content/pictures you have used. Keep up the good work. Thanks

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-27T02:35:51
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 520.85/200.00
Total Photos: 84
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You got a 2.68% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @birdbanter!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This post has received a 20.12 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @birdbanter, @birdbanter.

This post has received a 21.79 % upvote from @boomerang.

How beautiful it is to have the beautiful creation of God
If we put a little penance in the large amount of animals that God has created we must love the animals and not hammer them thank you for sharing that beautiful publication

You got a 5.83% upvote from @upme thanks to @birdbanter! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

I have go through your post and i am impressed for the amazing content/pictures you have used. Keep up the good work.

You can follow me @rajrajput

Thanks

These are all beautiful birds! It is nice that you get to go out with friends for bird sighting!

beautiful birds!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68