Is it spring yet?

in #birding5 years ago

Shortly after that ridiculous cold polar vortex had passed, I glanced out the window and was quite surprised to see two Robins in the tree outside the window!

image

American Robins are a summertime bird for us here in Wisconsin. They fly south in the winter as soon as it starts getting cold here and they can no longer find the worms and grubs that they like to eat.

Traditionally, one of our first signs of spring is when the Robins return. We joked about this pair... maybe they live all summer at the north pole so they think this is south?

image

But even if they are a confused pair, they were enjoying the berries that were still hanging on the buckthorn trees!

Go here to enter this week's Shadow contest

Shadow Photo Contest Round 55- Tree Shadows



Posted with eSteem

Do you use eSteem?
eSteem is a Mobileiphone& PCcomputer app. for Steem with great features. Also, you get Incentives posting through eSteem apps.

eSteem Spotlight; eSteem provides rewards for it top users in Leader Board with most Posts, Comments and Highest Earners.

Download eSteem for your Mobileiphone
Android devices Google Play Store
IOS devices Apple Store

Download eSteem Surfer for your PCcomputer
Available for all OS Github


Join eSteem Discord https://discord.gg/UrTnddT

Join eSteem Telegram http://t.me/esteemapp

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

image

Sort:  

Your confused pair are exactly that -confused. That polar vortex messed us all up.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks Pix! I'm in the middle of trying to rebuild my voting power right now, so I'm sending you a !tip

🎁 Hi @pixresteemer! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: The Budweiser Clydesdales Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

we are getting hit by out 2nd votex

Oh no! I see a - 2° this week here, but after that last bit of craziness 2 degrees below zero will feel like a heatwave! We are in the middle of an ice storm right now. I can hear it hitting the windows and the roads and sidewalks are rapidly becoming treacherous.

Beautiful photos. I already want spring to come... You will be very happy and I will enjoy your beautiful photos

We are getting an ice storm right now and the roads and walkways are getting treacherous. I am getting very weary of winter and we still have a whole lot more to go!

It should not be easy at all. Winter seems eternal to me and that I am not there😱

This is the time of year when Jim would not be able to bear another day of winter and he would say ' Let's go find some green!' and we would pack a couple suitcases, load my scooter in the back of the car and head South until we found some green! I miss him.

You made me cry. I know it should not be easy for you to not be with him anymore. My mom does the same. She does not cry as much as he used to, but every day she remembers it and misses he so much.

I certainly understand how she feels. I don't cry as much now either, but hardly an hour goes by that I don't think of him.

But good that is the law of the life. They are in a better place ... I did not cry so much because I had to be strong for her and for me.

The first month was hard for me, but he knew he was dying and was so sick for months. He gave me so many treasured words and moments to hold on to that I can remember and cherish them anytime I need him near. I often feel that he isn't very far away.

That is a TOTAL WOW....!!!!!!!!!!!
@melinda010100
I have never seen them in February.
I am sure you must be most surprised.
(:

They were only here for a few hours and have since moved on. I hope they went further South!

(:
@melinda010100
I too hope they went futher south. Just to early.. !!!!
Unless the Robins know something we don't know...🤔
(:

I suspect they are probably as confused as the rest of us are!

I suspect they are
Probably as confused as
The rest of us are!

                 - melinda010100


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

True
Yup
Exactly..!!!!!!
(:

.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks so much!

Que lindo, es tan tierno.. :)

That’s weird because I saw about 30 of them before the vortex, all together feeding off seeds people left...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Cool guys! We see robins here all year (not that species, thow :), and for the first time I've seen them near my parents house a couple days ago, in a complete urban setting!

Although they are both called Robins, I don't think the American Robin and the European Robin are very closely related. The ones that live here are very comfortable in urban settings. Your Robins are cuter than ours!

I don't think the American Robin and the European Robin are very closely related

For sure, completely different species; both cute! :)

I think the robins and the rest of nature must be getting so confused with this drastic swings in temperature i know I am lOL

After last week I think I agree one thousand percent 😂

We are in the middle of an ice storm right now.

Ohh No stay safe and warm and enough of Winter already

I'm not going anywhere! With this kind of ice my mailbox might as well be 12 miles away. I'm expecting a really exciting package but there's no way I can get to it even if it is in the box. I need chains for my scooter tires!

Well if the weather wont affect the package it can wait for a better day no matter how exciting it is, its not worth risking a fall to try and get it

Stay safe :)

I'm pretty sure the weather won't affect it, since it is from one of my Steem rock collecting friends. But my daughter grabs the privious days mail each morning when she stops over, so all mail will have to wait until then.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97