Two Different Kinds of Woodpeckers at Same Suet! Northern Flicker and Red-Belly

in #birding6 years ago (edited)

IMG_9067.JPG

This is a proud moment in any birder's life: the arrival of two different woodpeckers at the same suet at the same time. At first there was some tension between the Northern Flicker (new in town, but was at the suet first, today) and our perennial visitor, the Red-Bellied Woodpecker (who arrived at the suet second) but they figured out a way to manage after some initial, aggressive beaksmanship.

IMG_9076.JPG

Not to make excuses, but the reason the frame is so narrow is because I have to hide at the edge of my patio's sliding door to see the suet unobstructed while also not attracting the attention of the birds, both of which are rather skittish by nature. Birding definitely demands a certain degree of lurking.

IMG_9068.JPG

IMG_9078.JPG

I've included at the bottom two rather blurry "action shots." I understand they are pretty crappy, but I wanted to show some more of those tense moments, at least you can get the idea.

IMG_9073.JPG

IMG_9075.JPG

As always, all content is original and my own. I take all my pictures with my snazzy Cannon PowerShot SX530 HS. If you want to see more of it consider upvoting and following me.

Sort:  

Wow!! How lucky is that!! :) More and more I want to get a feeding station!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61035.98
ETH 2886.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67