Living Room Bird Watching

in #birds6 years ago

I know, I know, it’s a bad photo, but this was one of the highlights of my day. We have had a pair of Pileated Woodpeckers coming to the feeder for quite some time now. Today the father (who has a red stripe on both sides of the jaw) brought 2 fledglings to the feeder!
Here they are!!!!

5DFBD996C75C4807A5CC3D4212E811FD.jpeg

Sort:  

A flock of woodpeckers is called a "Descent" thogh this is more likely a family. Nice sight.

That’s cool, I didn’t know that! Yes I think they are a family. The male and female have been coming to the suet for about 8 months now and I was hoping they would bring their fledglings. I am aiming to get a better photo. Tomorrow I am going to clean the window and have the camera ready. Any sudden movement and they are gone.

Too bad I missed the baby pecker!

I've mentioned you in my posting about Chinese bird names:
https://steemit.com/nature/@wentong-syhhae/birdy-easily-guessable-names-formed-with-neau-ni-o

I hope you can snap more pictures of that woodpecker family. What precious memories these will be!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.50
ETH 2910.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59