ThursdayThoughtssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #birds5 years ago

IMG_0676.jpg

My thoughts this afternoon as I walked across my deck to the backdoor....That cardinal is not only quite red but he is FAT!

There are two trees (well, one tree and one shrub) covered with berries on the side of my deck that the cardinal is clearly enjoying for his daily lunch.

The shrub is a privet on my neighbor's side of the fence that doesn't get the attention it needs which means, no one cut it last spring after it flowered. But there's a bright side to that...not only does it grow to cover our view of the side of their garage, it also leaves little black berries for the birds! THe cardinals are loving these berries.

THe other berry-filled tree is my 'Nellie Stevens' Holly. SOOOO many red berries on that thing. I cut a lot for arrangements and wreaths at Christmas and now the birds are making a mess of it.

Here's a view over the rail - some berries still on tree, but most have been eaten and spit out on the ground
IMG_0679.jpg

OH, and on the deck...
IMG_0677.JPG

Nature is certainly for all to enjoy!

Happy gardening and bird-watching everyone!
@gardenlady

Sort:  

Gardening is always fun the nature fulfil us with joy

Oh yes @gardenlady, it is winter now, but it is quite pleasant to be in your garden and the bushes are still green!

It looks like a bird flew to eat berries from your bush and at the same time on the deck :)

You have a rather interesting garden and shrubs amazingly green at this time of year!

@gardenlady, Unfortunately i don't own a garden but when i will for sure i will going to do plantation and gardening because i love to explore greenery and specially i really love to see the process of growing of plants. Stay blessed. 🙂

Great review and photo, my friend you have a great garden and plants in it! Thank you @gardenlady

you're welcome!

Cardinals are always such a pretty bird, and he certainly has not missed many a meal LOL! It has been a good winter for them!

it's amazing they don't mind the cold!

Haha he does look rather plump...

Posted using Partiko iOS

My god he is fat as feck! Tell him it's winter!

I am not sure he can even fly right now...he was chirping, but I think I also heard a bird burp ;0)

Churping, hehe!

A new riddle for your little lady..."What's a bird say after he eats too much? CHUUUURP!"

Knowing my luck she would just shake her head and day it was obvious and I would be like, eh, is it!?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85