Kookaburra at the Honolulu Zoo

in #birds6 years ago

IMG_0172.JPG
All the pictures I post are original pictures taken by either me or my mom. I was lucky to take this cool picture of a Kookaburra on our trip to Oahu last summer when I went to have my baby girl at Kapiolani Women and Children's hospital. How many of you out there know the old children's song "Kookaburra sits on the old gum tree..merry merry king of the bush is he..laugh Kookaburra, laugh Kookaburra, save some gums for me"? I love that silly kids song. I think of it every time I see these pictures. Funny, adorable little bird. Just a little info about Kookaburra's: they are a kind of Kingfisher and are native to Australia and New Guinea. They make a distinct call that resembles human laughter according to myth they are believed to be able summon the Gods of Laughter. At least that is what it says on wikipedia about Kookaburra's.
IMG_0169.JPG
Thank you for visiting my post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61519.90
ETH 2995.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45