Natural Mamas: Home Birth Series

in #birth6 years ago (edited)

natural mamas intro.png

In 1975 my mother gave birth to me at home. During her pregnancy she read “Birth Without Violence’ by the French obstetrician Frederick Leboyer and she was so moved and encouraged by his practises that she wanted the same for her labour. Leboyer promoted the idea of the right of the baby to be born into a calm, gentle, low lit environment rather than a brightly lit hospital theatre-type environment. One of his most well known techniques was to immerse the newborn baby in a small tub of warm water, known as a "Leboyer bath", which helped to ease the transition from the womb to the outside world.

"Water, for a newborn, is a friend. For example, imagine that you go to Beijing. You don't know anyone and you don't speak Chinese. And then across a street you see someone you know, and that person's familiarity makes you feel safer. That is how water is to a baby: because he or she has been in the fluid of the womb, water is a known sensation. It's friendly. It calms."

natural birth 1.png
Stepha Lawson artwork from The Language of Birth

My mother has told the story of my birth many times. To my young ears it sounded magical, warm and loving. She told me that when I was bathed in the warm water after being born my eyes were wide open, looking around me, listening for her voice, at peace. Not only did she have her midwife and my father with her, but also friends who she had wanted there to support her. Everyone was silent, in awe of this new life being born. My mother felt empowered and surrounded with love. She birthed me with no medication within a few hours.

mum and me.jpg
me and mum 1976

leboyer quote.png

When I discovered I was pregnant in 2011 I immediately thought about my birth and how I would like to have a similar experience for my baby. But I was also scared and worried about the “what ifs”....in modern times pregnant women are bombarded with too much information online, horror stories told to them by “well-meaning” friends and family....it is not a badge of honour to have a traumatic labour! I wish I had had someone to encourage me with positive birthing stories, but so few people it seemed had them.

I want to share a series of articles with you, to guide and inform any mothers to be about the amazing positive home birthing experiences I had. I had a few hiccups along the way so would like to also share the techniques that helped me manage those. But my main aim is to support you to make an informed decision and give you lots of uplifting and empowering encouragement! You can do this!!

crowing.png
Stepha Lawson artwork from The Language of Birth

I'm not a birth professional. However, I have learned a lot on this journey and I'd love to share it with you.

I will be covering; why home birth,what to expect, midwives, doulas & birthing partners, techniques and exercises to help during labour, position of the baby - videos to help positioning and yoga moves that helped me, overdue baby- tips to encourage, what you need for a home birth, cord and placenta, my birthing stories, what happens after the birth.

I hope you will join me in this series and please let me know if you have any questions or if you would like me to feature a home birth related topic.

BIG love,

Star xx

Steemit logo.jpg

tribe-steemup-member-banner.jpg

steemitmastermindgroupbanner.png

steemitmamas.png

NaturalMedicineBanner.jpg

Sort:  

You are so right, we need positive birthing stories, it is such a beautiful experience! I am looking forward to follow your series!
I gave birth to my son at home too, in my mother's hose and she and my brother were there too, and of course my partner - and a midwife :) It was not a perfect birth, but a strong experience and I certainly never regretted that I chose a homebirth!

hey, well done mama!! amazing for you to have so many loved ones around you during the birth. and yes,sometimes things don't go as planned, but it is such an empowering and magical experience and to be at home where you feel most safe and comfortable is so wonderful x

Hi @startreat - love your work! We are super proud to see that @naturalmedicine banner, and thrilled you are on the team. We've resteemed your post, and hope to refer to it in next week's curation post!

SMALLBANNERFORCOMMENTS.jpg

Thanks @naturalmedicine really happy to be a part of the group, it's awesome! xx

That's impressive your mom had a home birth back in the 70s. It is only now gaining popularity where I live in the US, and even so the local OBs are huge bullies about it.

I had both my babes at home. Could not have been better.

I know! She's a very inspiring woman. Hopefully the more positive stories we share with the world, the more women will want to birth at home. It would be wonderful to hear about your birth stories. Thanks for stopping by to read and comment, I look forward to discovering your articles too xx

Wow, this is marvelous. I was born in the hospital and has the forceps scar to go with it. But all my other siblings were born at home with the help of the local midwife.

How interesting? How long ago were your siblings born? Did your mum decided to do the home birthing after her experiences at hospital? Or was it just that the babies came quickly? xx

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wildlocusthoney from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @startreat! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I think home birth is amazing. My first two kids were born in a hospital, and my last was born at home, and the difference is like night and day. ♥

wow, 3 beautiful babies, strong mama!!

Good to know other experiences, I liked it a lot. regards

Good to know other
Experiences, I liked
It a lot. regards

                 - mgaby


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Thanks, so amazing you could come and learn a little from my experiences xx

That is beautiful. The days were mostly everything is natural and inclined to nature. Hope those time will come back. Thank you for sharing a piece of you : )
Blessings!

You are very welcome @sherylneil, I hope this helps inform mums to be who are unsure on home birth and maybe it will reassure them that it is an awesome way to bring your baby into the world! x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59740.56
ETH 3011.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79