Remembering How I Birth My Daughter Next To The Sea

in #birth6 years ago (edited)

bus life 072.JPG

Looking at that photo above, brings back so many memories. This was where I was living 6 years ago, in the south of Ireland, parked up on some land next to the sea. And this is where I birthed my second daughter. She was born in ta bell tent, next to the bus, exactly 6 years ago tomorrow. I will be busy celebrating with her then, so today I wish to share her birth story and begin the celebrations early.

I remember this exact night 6 years ago, very clearly. I was feeling quite apprehensive, as earlier in the day I had been told by my community midwife that I would have to go for a check up in the maternity hospital, because I was already 2 weeks overdue. I had already resisted there attempts, to try and get me to have an ultrasound.But then my midwife told me she would not be able to assist me if I did not have one. So in the end I did and but I made sure they were quick when they scanned me. I really wanted my baby to be born at home. I had wanted the same with my first daughter, but in the end I was taken to hospital and had a very traumatic birth.

But this time, this time I knew what my body was capable of, I had complete faith in it's ability to birth my baby.

However, I also knew that if I did not follow the hospitals rules, I would not have access to my midwife. So I slept on and off, talking with my little one, all snug inside of me. Asking her, that if she was ready to be born, then tomorrow would be a good day as I really did not want to go into hospital and have anyone trying to frighten me into having interventions. The hospital, was last place I wanted to set foot in. I wanted to be at home, in my space, secure, safe and comfortable. And the bell tent was all set up with a heater and a birthing pool. Both my ex partner and some of my friends, had set up a bath outside , which was elevated off the ground, so that you could start a fire under it and have a bath outside. A few nights prior to this, I had an amazing hot seaweed bath under the stars. It was such bliss! Just me, my baby within and the elements, it is a favourite memory of mine for sure.

bus life 048.JPG

Our Set Up With The Bath All Ready To Go

That bath was set up so that we could heat up water for the birthing pool in the bell tent. The bell tent, was my sacred space. I had my altar in there and a few weeks before hand my mother blessing. The energy of so many amazing women was held in that space and I would sit in there daily and talk with my baby, meditate on the birth I wanted. Me and my ex partner had to make a wind break behind the bell tent as the wind blew very strong sometimes. Just a few days before the birth, I remember waking up at around 5 a.m and the bus was rocking from side to side with the wind. I looked outside and saw that the bell tent was about to take off. So I woke up my ex and together we went out and double pegged and weight the tent down and mended the wind break. I can only image what I must have looked like out there, half asleep and heavily pregnant, hair flying all over the place, trying to secure my birthing space.

On the 5th of November 2012, I woke up to a very mild and sunny day, which is quite the luxury, at this time of the year in Ireland. I woke up before my ex partner and daughter and went across the road to the beach. It was deserted and I walked along the shore, singing , enjoying the sun on my face and the sound of the waves crashing on the shore. So happy to have this time to myself, to get to have this beautiful beach all to myself. I walked for quite a bit and then sat down to really take in and enjoy the sights and sounds around me. I also took this time to have another little chat with my baby, again saying that today was a good day to be born if she felt ready.

bus life 002.JPG

Inside My Sacred Space

I think on the way back to the bus I knew that today would be the day. I spend that day, taking walks on the beach and relaxing and singing in my bell tent. At 2p.m, I phoned my midwife to tell her that I would not be visiting the hospital for my check up, which was booked for 3p.m, as I was pretty certain that my daughter would be born this day or the next. I wasn't uncomfortable or in any pain, I just had a twinge in my lower back, which was something I had never experienced during the pregnancy, so I knew that something was happening. But to be honest I had felt it on the beach that morning, a subtle change in my energy.

My midwife came to see me at 5p.m after being at another birth, she examined me quickly and told me that she felt the baby would come early morning, but to phone her if I needed anything.I felt relaxed and I ate some soup and returned to my sacred bell tent. My 3 year old daughter,who was always close by, was very excited that her little brother or sister was arriving soon. She would come and sit with me and sing, or rearrange my altar. At around 7 I really felt the urge to go back to the beach, so off I went with my daughter and ex. It was dark by now and the ocean sounded so loud, but it was so soothing. We all sang as we walked and then my daughter said she wanted to go back to the truck. Me and my partner found this quite unusual, as it was always difficult to get her to leave the beach once we were there. I insisted we walk a little further, which we did until my daughter this time became quite adamant that we go home. So in the end we did and luckily too. Because about half way back I really felt my baby drop, and I had a huge urge to empty my bowels. My partner had to help me back to the bus, where there was a fire and water heating for the pool. I went into the bus and straight away came back out. I felt completely claustrophobic in there.

bus life 057.JPG

There I am walking a few hours before my daughter came earthside.

I had another strong urge, only this time it was to have my feet on the earth. I spend the next little while leaning on some wood and mooing. My partner had called the midwife and she came straight round. I really don't remember much of her arrival, I had completely zoned out whilst mooing. It was only when she and my partner encouraged me into the bell tent, into the warmth, that things really intensified. My blissed out state, had be disrupted and it was only then that I began to feel a lot of discomfort. But less that 10 minutes later my Sea Baby was born. The sea really played such a huge part in her birth. So We named her Fharraige-Belle , (pronouced far-re-ga)which is Irish for the Sea and Belle, which is french for beauty. My little sea beauty, you were perfect and well cooked as my midwife said, you weighted 4kilos and I fell so in love with you the moment I lay eyes on you, my heart felt like it would surely burst open. And that love just keeps growing and growing.

And now you are turning 6 and as I turn to look at you, my heart swells once more. I can not believe how much you have growth and how much you have taught me. Yes you have a fire inside of you and you get get angry very easily at times, but you are so kind and so helpful and you really take joy looking after others. I love to watch you sing and dance, I love to listen to you as you share your wild and crazy dreams. I am in awe of you imagination and I feel so lucky to have you as my daughter. Happy Birthday My Sea Beauty xxxxxxxx

All Photos were taken on the day of her birth!



8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp



DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

this is so beautiful and perfect. what a heartwarming story! i can feel the love radiating :) thanks for sharing it with us xoxo

thank you beautiful, it is really nice to remember those times xx

Yes she is a water baby! A scorpio! Yep Scorpios can have a sting but they are amazing beings with shamanic vibes! Wow I'm always so lucky to catch your birthing posts I find them so fascinating... I love the yurt, and the place by the coast with the spectacular sunrise is perfect

💕❤️

thankyou lovely, yes they do have a sting but so many other tings outweigh that, I do miss that beach, I would love to be able to take a walk there right now xx

Congratulations @trucklife-family! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99