My Golden Year: Happy 50th Year to me!

in #birthday6 years ago (edited)

I woke up past 12 in the morning with my daughter Johanna Gail a.k.a. @gailbelga singing the Happy Birthday song to me while knocking our bedroom door. She was holding, as what she said, an invisible birthday cake that she brought from an invisible cake shop.

I just laughed silently at her idea while blowing my invisible birthday candle. Was she even waiting until twelve in the morning to greet me? Anyway, there was nothing fancy to it but I was so happy with her gesture.

She then laid her hands on my back and prayed for me. She hoped unto the Lord a lot of things and part of that is that I would continually grow unto the Lord.


Video taken by @gailbelga, from her Youtube Channel

I am grateful with everyday of my life.
I reached my golden year and I am so thankful unto the Lord that He has made me this far. In the past years, a lot of things in my life and yet He remains on my side, holding my hand, and taking the best of care that He could give to me.

A part of those gifts, both seen and unseen, are my colleagues who had been with me in good times and in bad.

Thank you, friends.
When it was seven in the morning, I was awoken by a birthday song being played on a bluetooth device. I was totally disoriented because I only had few hours of sleep. I was so restless because I had been chilling at down because of my flu. Johanna Gail also caught the virus.

When I found out that those were my colleagues outaide our house giving me a warm birthday greeting, I immediately went to the bathroom and fixed myself.


Screen shot from Ma'am Diana's post

They all sang the Happy Birthday song to me and wished me good and great things in life. They were so sweet as they bought me birthday presents, a birthday cake, and some food for breakfast. I was not able to give them a warm breakfast meal so we had coffee, cake, pandesal (a type of bread), and some fruits.

We stayed at the dining area for a quite time while we chit-chatted. We even had some plans sorted out and part of that is a mini-vacation which is out of town. I has never been boring whenever I am with them.

When they left, I prepared myself as I needed to send files for an evaluation. No fancy celebration for me today, but I ain't complaining. This Saturday, we will be having a double birthday celebration, Ruby my nephew and I will be spending it at the Marine Aquapark again. I am so excited for Saturday.


After some paper works at school, I went to Ayala Mall with my son where he treated me a meal at Pepper Lunch. Such a sweet gesture from my son!

It was raining cats and dogs then so I stayed a bit at the mall, had a pedicure, and enjoyed the view. When I went home, my husband asked me whether I wanted to eat out for dinner, I wanted to but I had been feelint so cold. In the end, my son Jose ordered a meal at Chow King while my husband Alfredo brought a tinap-anan, a grilled fish in bamboo stick skewer.

Nothing is so fancy about it but I was so happy. Aside from that, I wanted to thank those who remembered my birthday and greeted me either in person, text message, or social media. Here are some of those messages that moved me, well, actually all of those moved me.

Happy birthday to my favorite Filipino teacher! Haha I wish you more birthdays to come ma'am! I hope that God will continue on pouring more and more blessings to you and your family! God bless you po ma'am 😇 Stay happy 😁 love lots 😍 - Joana Razon, a student

Happy Birthday! May God continue to bless you and the entire family...stay healthy - Sol Tongco, sister-in-law

Happy birthday my ever gorgeous favourite Filipino teacher in highschool 😘May the Lord grant all your wishes mam Dahlia Tongco😘God bless😘 - Lyzel Estoque , previous student a decade and more ago

Happy Birthday my honeypie. My partner in doing the Kingdom's Agenda. Keep going to the path God has laid on you. Stay blessed and be a blessing to people around you. - Alfredo C. Tongco Jr. , my loving husband

Growing old is not bad at all since you got to celebrate it with people that you treasure. Looking forward to an adventure this Saturday.

Lots of Love,
Dahlia

Sort:  

Happy birthday mom. I am so glad and proud to be your daughter. Keep on ageing gracefully. We love you.

happy happy golden birthday po. :) Seems you enjoyed your day. God bless po. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69104.81
ETH 3758.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68