A Kalimba for My Birthday

in #birthday6 years ago

Hi! I had my birthday last June 8--and let's not emphasize on my age. Hahaha.

So when a friend of mine and I met (Hi, Seji!), he gave me a box. He even took a video of my reaction as as I was opening the box.

And tadaaa!

IMG_1999.JPG

When I first saw it, I was wondering how to take it out of the box. I didn't even know what it was. Let's say that I know how to play the piano and read musical scores, but this 17-note instrument was one thing that was not really familiar to me. Hahaha

l1.jpg

With a manual contained in the package, knowing how to play it was somehow within reach. It contained a few techniques such as glissando and vibrato and even notes on how to play songs whether by chords or through their own melodies. A few songs include "Twinkle Twinkle, Little Star" and "Happy Birthday".

l8.jpg

The package also included a tuning hammer (which as the name suggests is for tuning), a few accessories and a bag.

l4.jpg

So, I tried to play a short ending song from an anime Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso.

For another trial, I looked for a way to play the next song--Can't Help Falling in Love. :)

At the end of the second video, I applied vibrato in the end which can be done by covering the holes found at the back of the kalimba.

I hope to learn to play more songs using the kalimba in the future and maybe even play it using chords. :)

Sort:  

wow. it has an amazing sound,very soothing...

Thank you, @amayphin! 'Twas indeed. :))))

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Thank youu! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48