My Son & EOS

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

rich.jpg


I bought both my kids (14 and 11) 50 EOS each when it was around 70 cents last year and have it stored in a separate wallet hoping that it would 'moon' and help pay towards their college tuition one day (high hopes).

I happened to mention that I had this cryptocurrency saved for them when eldest son randomly told me at the dinner table one night that a Rainbow 6 Siege tournament he was watching offered a first place prize of 10 bitcoin. After I had tested my skills on the game and quickly realized I had zero chance of winning a penny, I returned to the dinner table and the conversation continued.

They asked if they could "withdraw' their EOS "savings" account to pay some random crap ( I forget what it was at the time) to which I spent the next couple of hours laughing. The price of EOS at that point was around a couple of dollars, but to a kid, they had a fortune sitting just out of reach.

Time went by and not nothing more was mentioned about wanting to spend the hidden treasure or sadly add to it, that was until today. My youngest came to me this morning and said,

Dad, how is that crypto stuff you are hiding from me doing?.

"Hiding," cheeky little bugger more like securing your financial future. I replied

Dude it is rocking it HARD. The network is currently going live; the block producers have been working around the clock for a week now trying to align the requirements needed to launch a billion dollar, first of its kind blockchain. Right now they are building a meshed network to make sure all nodes are communicating and in sync ready to process transactions at the speed of 1 block every 500 milliseconds. I am so excited, I feel the same way you do Christmas eve night"

To which he says.

Yeah, I guess that is cool, but how much money do I have?

Deflated I respond

The price is $14.35, you have 50 tokens.

His eyes light up and he started to crunch the numbers. Isn't funny that solving math problems when it is called homework takes hours, but when it involves​​ money belonging to them, BOOM.....​ done. He runs off upstairs and I think that is the end of it assuming he is playing the xbox.

He came down about an hour later and says

Dad, I want to get more crypto stuff, how much can I get with this?


IMG_2554.jpeg


I do not know whether to be happy or mad. I love that he is getting into crypto and wants to invest his money​, but where the heck did he get it in the first place?
I asked him where he got the money and he told me he raided his piggy bank and he left me an mom to count it.

I am keeping my wallet in the safe when I sleep tonight​ ;-)

Sort:  

This is an awesome story! Hopefully the kids look into how EOS actually works and learn about its potential.

Hey thanks, I keep trying to talk to them about crypocurrencies, blockchains and coding. They shut down after a few seconds unless I drop the word Xbox in there :-(

Great story and smart investment, your kids are lucky they have a smart father.

Thanks pal, let’s just hope they do not work out how to use public/private keys anytime soon.

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

Great investment brother, I’m sure they will appreciate the investment even more when the network hosts the games they like 👍

Congratulations @aclarkuk82! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

you got the future dan larimer right there man. sell your house, give him the funds and watch him do magic :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63202.55
ETH 3085.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85