You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitcoin, The Honey Badger Of Money, Shakes Off Russian Attacks To Stop It

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I am all about the bitcoin/crypto revolution, but it's made me question the most basic assumption that is critical for crypto survival - that internet and steady electricity are a forgone conclusion in the future.

I do not believe that anything is guaranteed. We are in a strange blip in history right now and experiencing greater chaos and disruption along with dwindling natural resources. Tell me, if you were living in Puerto Rico right now and had a massive stash of Bitcoin, what good would it do you?

The dependence upon reliable electricity and telecommunications is the Achilles heel of Bitcoin and crypto. I should know - I've torn both of mine! And while I certainly hope this experiment continues for a good long while, I encourage you to entertain this possibility and work on acquiring hard assets and learning hard skills that will persist in the face of technological collapse.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57453.27
ETH 2928.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67