I Quit Eating for 28 Days [Water Fast] : Day 1 (Introduction)

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

Bitopian-Journey-Cover.jpg

Starting today, I will stop eating anything at all for 28 days.


Why am I doing this?

To Lose Weight
For Better Health
To Attain an Elevated State of Consciousness
To be more like Jesus, for Jesus Fasted for 40 days

I Ran Out Of Money.


I took a Leap of Faith with Steemit, and it didn’t exactly turn out perfectly so far.

Excerpt from Leap of Faith :

I have come to the EU With no ticket home, limited amount of funds, not enough to last through the winter and far from enough from buying a ticket home.

However, I take full responsibility for the situation that I am in right now. I took a huge risk putting all my eggs in the Steemit basket without enough understanding of how Steemit works. I spent a lot of time focusing on creating content and posting, and did not understand how hard it is for your work to get seen without using an Upvote Service. I had so many posts that ended up making $0.10 or less.

I have been on Steemit full time for about 1 month now and have learned so much about the platform. I also realized the mistakes I made which did not allow me to make enough money from Steemit even though my content was good, I believe a lot of minnows face the same problem. Today I posted 2 other posts, one of them addressing the problem, and a proposal for the solution, so that hopefully other would have a better experience coming into Steemit of which I did not experience myself.

You can find them here:

Back to not eating.

Before taking this huge risk of going full time on Steemit all while in a foreign country with no other means of making money, I knew that if it came to it, and I ran out of money, I would do a fast as I am doing now. So my actions now are not really out of the blue, more like my “Get out of jail free card”.

Can’t I just borrow money from friends or family?


Yes I can. But that would completely defeat the purpose of what I am doing.

Excerpt from Leap of Faith :

I have always lived in extremity and I love it just that way.

So an extreme plan was concocted. A plan where I would put myself in a situation, such that I am backed in a corner, with limited time and resources.

To once and for all, put the pedal to the metal and forcefully awaken the infinite potential which exists within me, and each every one of us to grow at an explosive rate, to come out the other side, not just being able to survive, but to return home having attained significant results and massive personal growth.

I chose to take this risk. Nobody forced me to, nobody said I had to. I did so to back myself into a corner to make sure I achieve the results I expect of myself.

No excuses. This means I’d rather stop eating than to burden others because of a risk I took.

Even if that means to stop eating for a little while.


How can I just stop eating for 28 days? Won’t I suffer a lot or die?


Of course, I wouldn’t recommend anyone to just do this. You can’t just decide on a sunny Tuesday afternoon, to just say

Fuck it

I’m not eating anymore.


I have been preparing for a while now

Not exactly because I knew I would one day decide to go on a 28 day fast, but rather as a general means of eating healthy and healing my body from shitty life choices in the past, I have been on a “Ketogenic Diet” for the last 6 months for the most part.

A ketogenic diet, generally means eating mostly fats, some protein and very little carbohydrates.

The exact ratio of fat, protein and carbohydrates being a 60% : 30% : 10%.

Which usually means less than 20 grams of carbohydrates a day and generally no sugar at all. All this means for me, is that my body is fat-adapted as it is called, and is quite used to using fat as a main source of fuel for energy.

Even if that means stored fat on my body.


Join me on this ride


Starting today, I will be documenting my experience of this fast, how I feel, the changes I am seeing and also talking more about fasting in general.

So if this sounds entertaining to you, please tune in everyday to see how I am doing and I will ensure that it will be at the very least interesting, hopefully entertaining and a little educational time the next 28 days.

So here is what I am up to on day #1!


A smooth transition to ease into fasting and reduce pain


The state your body is in when you are fasting is the state known as ‘Ketosis’ which is what the ‘Ketogenic Diet’ does, in a state of Ketosis, your body releases Ketones(hence the name) which your body utilizes to use fat as a main source of fuel.

In a fasted state your body is in the deepest state of Ketosis achievable, quite sensibly.

By first and foremost already being fat-adapted, I will also be transitioning away from foods and instead consume a diet of 95% fat for the first 3 days of the fast. This allows a way smoother transition into a fasted state than if I were to just stop eating. This means way less hunger pangs and pain in general.

In additional preparation, I have been taking full doses of Orange Triad Multivitamins, which in case you don’t know, is no ordinary multivitamin, at full dose, it is giving you a full spectrum of micronutrients at usually 20 times your RDI(Recommended Daily Intake).

I’ve had Orange Triad around for awhile, but always refrain from taking full doses because it so god damn strong and I don’t want my body to get too used too reliant on it. This is the only multivitamin supplement that you can actually feel. In preparation for this long fast however, I went ahead and started full doses of Orange Triad for the 4th straight day today.

I will be consuming my diet of 95% fat for the first 3 days. Or when I run out of butter and coconut oil, whichever comes first.

In this period, starting today, the only thing I will consume is fat, in the form of butter and coconut oil, clear beef marrow bone broth and some supplements. In this way, my transition into shutting down my digestive tract completely will be much less painful than if I stop eating abruptly and go into a fast.

I’ve found the easiest way to get in that much fat into you diet is to blend it with something, which I learned first with Bulletproof Coffee but adapted it with other things as well as you will see.


This is what I had today :


In the morning, I had 4 things :

20171120_102240.jpg

Bullet Proof Coffee which is Coffee, blended with Butter, Heavy Cream and MCT Oil

MCT Oil specifically helps with the body’s production of ketones and aids the process of getting into deep ketosis.

Clear Beef Marrow Bone Broth for fats, nutrients and increasing absorption of nutrients.

The Green Drink is ORAC Veggie Shake which is a crazy stack of more than 60 different types of veggies that are extremely good for you, with lemon juice for acidity

Lastly, 2 of my 6 Orange Triad Multivitamin Pills.

Extra shot of the first snow of winter and lovely day in general
20171120_102404.jpg


After breakfast, the only thing I had was basically, 3 bowls of
Bulletproof Beef Marrow Bone Broth
20171120_125401.jpg
Which is basically blending clear bone broth with butter or coconut oil and MCT Oil and have it like soup. 2 of the 3 times, I had 2 Orange Triad Pills as well.

As such, I end the day, consuming estimated 95% worth of fat and a lot and I mean ALOT of micronutrients both from ORAC Veggie Shake and Orange Triad. I am filling up my body’s micronutrient store to the maximum capabilities before completely halting all intake, on Wednesday, at which time, I will stop consuming all fats and supplements will allow my digestive tract to begin shutting down completely.

The only thing allowed after that is water and Himalayan Sea Salt which will provide me with essential minerals, and as salts are processed in the liver, not the stomach, will not reactivate my digestive tract.


You’re Crazy For Doing This


Actually, not at all, not eating for 28 days, even though I know how crazy that sounds to most people, but the truth is that people have been fasting since the beginning of time. To tell you that fasting as practice started at some specific point in history, is false. Fasting has existed as long as human beings have. Fasting has been practiced in basically every religion you have heard of like Islam, Buddhism, Christianity and Mormonism.

Scrap that, even further back, from the time of Neanderthals, further back to when we were monkeys further back when.. You get the point. Fasting has been around,

Literally Forever



It is even fair to say that our ability to fast for extended periods of time that allowed us to survive till this point.

So to say that fasting is ‘crazy’ is rather, quite a new phenomenon, for fasting has been here long before us, since the beginning of time really, and the idea that fasting is considered a ‘crazy thing to do’, in the great span of all life and existence, is the really ‘crazy’ thing.

But please don’t get me wrong.

I don’t recommend anyone do what I am doing



It is pretty clear that I know what I am doing, I wouldn’t presume someone who doesn’t to be able to do it the way I do. However, I have a lot of ‘theoreticals’ and not a lot of experience. This is the first time I am fasting for this long a period of time.

If what I have shown today is of interest to you, please stay tuned and follow! There are interesting things I am planning to cover in this series as we move forward, and I am certain there will not be a dull moment when it comes partaking in the ancient practice that has existed since the beginning of time.

I am very excited to see what will come and I hope you join me on this journey!

Till tomorrow,

God Speed Brethren.



Join The Bitopia community in earning from the highest-paying Bitcoin Faucet currently :

Sort:  

Fasting is good but not eating for 28 days is suicide

Stay tuned as I document my slow and painful death then brother ;)

tuned in after that comment! I will say tho, you sound like you prepared your body for this. ANd I don't think for a second you will die. But I will ask you to write a few rants as you get more pissed off. I will give you 100% of my voting power for this story and adventure!

Hey there @motoengineer! Thank you for the vote of confidence! I definitely have educated myself on the matter quite a bit before jumping into this.. My general lifestyle is already primed for this as well. So in a sense, it may not be for anyone, but it definitely is for me more so than most!

But I will ask you to write a few rants as you get more pissed off.

Hahaha I will add them in if I do feel them! I am generally docile person and don't have much of that in me, but after not eating for extended period of time, anything can happen 😂 😂

I will give you 100% of my voting power for this story and adventure!

Thank you so much! It is really very much appreciated! I have yet to be able to fund my way home and many other incoming costs, which are actually the part that is causing me to worry and suffer more than this fast is 🙄

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 89.0% @pula78 upgoat, thanks to @bitopia
It consists of $15.2 vote and $0.45 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ansonoxy to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Hi nice post.
https://steemit.com/heart/@vikramrana/heart-attack-know-the-signs-of-heart-attack-before-one-month

Read this post like Upvote and share for heat attack awareness

Fasting is great, not enough people do it. I think 28 days is a tad too much for the average bear. Not a literal bear, as they hibernate (obviously).
Are you going to supplement with ANYTHING??
Hope you've got the extra weight to fuel you through this endeavor, lest you wind up like Alexander Supertramp.

Fasting is great, not enough people do it. I think 28 days is a tad too much for the average bear. Not a literal bear, as they hibernate (obviously).

I agree! Fasting has very many health benefits and is coming back into the spotlight as an effective means of reversing illnesses and cleansing of the body. Well, 28 days does seem long in the grand scheme of things, especially by modern standards, by I sincerely believe that the limitation is self implied. I believe the body is much stronger than we dare let on.

After this Wednesday, the only other thing from water I will be consuming is Himalayan Sea Salt. The logic being that if you continuously reactivate your stomache with anything whatsoever the hunger pangs are actually much worse than if you did not consume anything at all.

In so doing, you are also resetting your entire gut microbiome, of which I will then restart and replenish with new gut bacteria which will lead to my long term health and longevity.

I will be documenting how I am feeling, what I am doing and daily progress in a post everyday till it's over! So stick aroud if this sounds interesting? ;)

Hope you've got the extra weight to fuel you through this endeavor, lest you wind up like Alexander Supertramp.

Sounds like he wasn't prepared at all! Haha what a story.

For the gut microbiome, I would recommend avoiding probiotics as they are a complete scam. Instead, all that is needed is proper fiber to provide an environment where good bacteria thrive and bad bacteria get starved out. The easiest and cheapest fiber I've found is chia seed (same as on these pets!) Plus it is packed with omega 3s and has a superior omega 3 to 6 ratio. To get the most benefit, I crack 'em open putting them through the coffee grinder. Just don't let it sit in water too long or it turns into a nasty phlegmish gel (ew!) Also exercise caution and common sense to avoid a poo-splosion, afterall it is fiber.

That's very sound advice! I do have chia seeds at the ready, will definitely be reminded to have them to repopulate my gut microbiome!

As for probiotics itself, I don't believe too much in pill form probiotics, but I definitely think things like Apple Cider Vinegar with the mother, fermented foods like kombucha, sauerkraut, kimchi, yoghurt, sour cream and fermented bean paste like miso can be very useful to "Restart the Gardern".

I will definitely be focusing on bone broth, a ton of veggies, I like some chlorophyll as well after I break my fast. But that's still a long way coming from now!

I am just about to post day 2!

Jeez... this is extreme. Best of luck to you man! I'm sure you'll succeed! Here's hoping everything turns out well for you

Thank you for your vote of confidence! I am after all, a little more prepared than most, as I mentioned in my post, I don't doubt that it will be a challenge though!

Never thought I'd say this, but I'm pretty excited about not eating.

Thank you for stopping by! I intend to continue writing about this journey and also covering more on fasting itself in followup posts. Hope to see you around? ;)

This truly was a great read! I will be by your side supporting you through this quest

Thank you very much for your kind comment! I am excited to see how this goes and actually bring more awareness to people about fasting, as well as document my progress.

I will be by your side supporting you through this quest

That's very nice of you! Please do engage with me along my journey and I will always be here to engage! Will be releasing day 2 later on in the day!

Stay tuned!

Depending on what country you are in... I am betting there are ways you can get some free food...

I'm sure there is, however, I'd say the whole "running out of money" part is only in part why I am doing this. I would have done this even if I had money actually, just so happens that now is a perfect time!

Thank you for dropping by! I intend to write a post once a day about my journey across the next 28 days and also to cover a little more about fasting in general.

Maybe I'll see you around the works again? ;)

You got this!!I have done a 30 day fast before. After a few days, you really don't miss food very much at all. And you are going in with a good prep.

Thank you for the vote of confidence! I definitely think my prep helped tremendously for getting past the hump! Also to make sure I face less problems along the way as I am going on a puritanical water fast with not even salts.

I am updating my posts everyday and am posting again in a short whiles time!

I did this back in the 80s I’d eat maybe one meal every two days so I could feed my kids, we were homeless. The bottom fell out of the construction industry and gas lines were a mile long....

Wow... That sounds like true struggle that I cannot comprehend. The things mothers will do to protect their children.. It seems you are doing much better now and I am glad to see that.

How did the water fast affect your Fibromyalgia?
I just read your latest post of your 3 day water fast! Did you consume any salts during the period of your fast?

No salts just water, no aches in my joints or muscles, and my fatigue retreated. This is the 2nd day after my fast and I still feel no fatigue or pain! The headache has not returned... my digestion speeded up!

Wow! That's awesome to hear! I'm glad that's the case!

great post dear...i admire your resolve and good you learnt how steemit really works...thanks for sharing

Thank you so much for dropping by and for your kind words!

It is all a learning process, and I wished I learnt earlier, however it is what it is.

I will be posting a daily post updating on my progress of my fast as well as to bring more light to fasting itself! If you are interested do drop by to have a read!

God Speed!

sure and wish you a steeming fasting experience!
keep it coming...

Thank you friend! I will definitely keep it coming and will be posting on my fast every day! Day 2 is already out, where I cover the science behind the bodily changes you will see from fasting as well!

sure...wish you all the best here...

Thank you very much!

welcome as always

Had no idea about your leap of faith! My longest fast is about 36 hours, but I practice intermittent fasting daily just by skipping the breakfast.

I'm excited to follow your fasting on these 28 days! Good luck to your fasting and your life!

Hey again @celestal! Yes, see, that's sort of the problem! If I had known earlier about the situation with upvote bots here on Steemit, you might have seen it, hahaha. Nonetheless, here we are.

I too intermittent fast quite regularly and only have my first meal at 2pm before ending all food intake by 10pm.

I'm excited to follow your fasting on these 28 days! Good luck to your fasting and your life!

Thank you so much! I will definitely make it an interesting read everyday! Glad to engage with you again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97