I Have Finally Decided To Start Buying Bitcoin

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

GettyImages-510365916.jpg

I've recently decided to stop powering down and start buying bitcoin after a long period of relying on the Steem platform and mining to supply my portfolio. For a long time I was unable to purchase cryptocurrency for the sole fact that I did not have a bank account. However, recently I've acquired a new job and thus opted to get a checking account to utilize direct deposit rather than heading to my local Walmart to cash my weekly checks per usual. I figure the $5 it costs to open an account was more cost effective than the $3/check and cost of gas to travel to and from my local retailer. Don't get me wrong, I still despise using a bank and can't stand waiting nearly a week to retreive my funds on my preferred exchange, Coinbase aka GDAX.

There are obvious technological benefits of using Bitcoin

It is not a stock. Its a means of exchange. It is also a store of value. Unlike fiat it is not "declared by a government to be legal tender". It's value is simply derived from it's features. It IS a commodity. Yet, unlike gold can be easily transported/exchanged and does not rely on the trust of a third party to be secured and traded in large quantities. The price will remain volatile until we experience the collapse of fiat and thus the masses are forced to realize it's true potential. Unlike cash/gold it is also programmable and divisible by 8 decimal places. Different protocols like the Lightning Network and Mimble Wimble will also attempt to make it faster, cheaper to send, and transactions will hopefully be encrypted and private like originally intended. There is still a lot of exciting developments in the works for the Bitcoin network and I firmly believe we are still in the early stages after nearly a decade.

Many signs suggest this to be a reasonable entry point for myself

Finally my financial situation has allowed me to comfortably start investing little by little into cryptocurrency each week. We're witnessing a nice dip bringing the Relative Strength Index (RSI) near 30 where it seems to bounce after practically every other major dip. This can likely be explained by U.S. Regulators prolonging the deadline for approving a Bitcoin ETF proposal from SolidX and VanEck, creating FUD in the process. However, Kim Kardashian has recently promoted Bitcoin via her Instagram during a charity poker game which will likely bring more attention to Bitcoin by her millions of fans that have neglected to pay attention prior. In other recent news, US Politicians have been ordered to disclose their cryptocurrency holdings, many of which hold significant amounts, proving that these folks are not stupid and well aware of the impending effects cryptocurrency will have in terms of personal freedom and our financial system.

download.png

Lowest market cap of the year

Earlier today coindesk put out an article suggesting the total market capitalization for all cryptocurrencies has fallen to its lowest point in 2018. Meaning now and the near future may perhaps be the lowest prices seen this year. Early this morning bitcoin saw a low of $6128.2 and has since bounced back to $6310. (currently).

CoinMarketCap.JPG

I am no professional

...But given the state of the United States' foreign affairs and loss of trust in major financial institutions after the financial crisis of 2007-2008, I feel like my value/money/livelihood is much safer in my own hands. I also don't see how programmable money, with the same "EMP" weaknesses of the current financial system, can't overtake fiat as the preferred means of exchange.

The above references an opinion and is for information purposes only. It is not intended to be investment advice. Seek a duly licensed professional for investment advice.

Thank you for your time! Don't forget to UPVOTE and FOLLOW!

ThousandWordBLOG.jpg

Sort:  

Nice article!

I enjoyed this so much, i had to follow your profile :D

Thank you for stopping by! I tend to read a lot and have a lot of information regarding different cryptocurrencies but have neglected to materialize it on steemit due to time constraints and laziness. I’d like to start writing more summaries of information and include more about how they coincide well with my “voluntaryist”/“golden rule” philosophy on life. Stay tuned :)

While everyone else is freaking out about the lowest crypto market in a long time, I can't help but be a little excited that it gives me another opportunity to buy more BTC while the market is so low. I travel a lot, have bank accounts in multiple countries and often have to transfer between countries... BTC is far superior to fiat and it's just a matter of time before everyone realises it.... but there is still a lot of infrastructure to be set up too... so we shouldn't be in any hurry.

I agree. Swooping up all the BTC i’m comfortable buying at this discounted price! Honestly hoping it will go a bit lower. Glad you stopped by! Thank you for taking the time to read :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93