Just how big is Bitcoin? When is it going to the moon?

in #bitcoin6 years ago

So just how big is Bitcoin? And the ultimate question, when will it go "to the moon"? Well I did some number crunching and we official have hit the moon!

Break Down

The apollo 11 mission cost $25.4bln back in 1973, which adjusting for inflation is $147bln today. According to CoinMarketCap, Bitcoin currently is at $191bln coincap. That means if every bitcoin were pooled together and sold at current value, we could fund a mission to the moon and have money left over to buy everyone a trip to Las Vegas to watch it!

So what does this mean? Well by my calculations we could fund the entire Apollo mission at this point! Which means we already hit the moon and are way past it since it could only be easier and less costly today thanks to the HUGE advances in technology!

Sources

Project Cost Estimates: https://history.nasa.gov/Apollomon/Apollo.html
Inflation Calculator: https://www.bls.gov/data/inflation_calculator.htm
BTC Coin Cap: https://coinmarketcap.com/

Sort:  

And for this you make just over $5.00 with 215 votes? Wow is this system broke or what?

I have 1355 followers and @ShadowBot is a big help. Check it out it's free for everyone to use!

So tell me exactly... What good are all the bot votes?

We work together as a community to help eachother gain more exposure and votes. Some of the members on Shadowbot are boosters that don't post much or at all and just seemt to earn more from curation rewards boosting others. Some of my biggest rewards came from @grandpawhale and he never made a single post!

I still don't get it. I'd be willing to bet that with all the votes on this post, you gained very little exposure. Steemit is supposed to about content creation, commenting, and curation that supports good content. Explain to me just how a bot rates a post good enough to deserve an upvote? Bots are designed to scam the system and provide short-cut earnings. Nothing more in my book. IMO of course.

And yet I have over 10x more SP in my account than you so look who is talking to who about "supporting" steemit ;)
480.768 STEEM vs 5,246.152 STEEM right I don't believe in the "true essence" of steemit..

Oh, I wasn't aware this was a contest!

It isn't.. By no means is it.. I just was simply pointing out that you make it seem like I am NOT in it for the average steemian when I power up almost always 100% and have a decent amount of SP and don't up vote myself and always up vote others (up voted you too).. If it came off as an attack I appologize, Just was trying to make it clear I am not some leach here!

Sorry if I put you on the offensive. I'm just not a big fan of bots (Ponzi comes to mind). And I have no problem with paying for promotion, although it has never been profitable for me, that is a different animal. And I too also upvoted your post.

ShadowBot was different I agree with the concept it prioritizes good authors over bad and still allows for the "human touch" with manual up voting being encouraged! I love steemit, seeing it fail would cost me a huge investment of time and money as well as the ultimate dream I see with how big this could be one day! Decentralized information is one of the 3 pillars of freedom!

Yeah I don't make money off promoting honestly I just get more eyeballs and followers which over time makes me more money. It is an investment (that is how I got over 1k followers in less than 4 months while many over a year can't break 250).

I don't self up vote either, I reserve 100% of my power for others!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $182.66 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 04 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61372.29
ETH 2888.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62