Bitcoin - The future becomes clearer

in #bitcoin5 years ago


Old age is difficult. I went to my PC to type my blog post - topic firmly in mind. After finally catching up on all recent post comments, other interesting posts and typing a few replies... ... I had no idea what my topic was anymore. Fortunately I keep a long list of "topics I will one day get to" - so I opened up my list and picked one. As I was about to start typing, I glanced at the BTC chart and noticed something I hadn't noticed before. One more topic change later and here we are! Today we are looking at BTC because of that thing I noticed...

I've got quite a few charts for you, I'll walk you through my reasoning process as we go along - so let's get straight to that.

This is the chart I was looking at when I noticed something. Notice anything?


Made by Bit Brain with TradingView

This is what I see when I look at that chart; the start of a classic ascending triangle:


Made by Bit Brain with TradingView

The next step was to zoom in (I switched from daily to 4-hour candles) and fine tune the upper and lower limits to the best possible levels.


Made by Bit Brain with TradingView

The end result is clearly a tapering triangle of the ascending variety. This is a bullish pattern. This triangle reaches its apex on 18 July, meaning that a breakout is likely before that date.


Made by Bit Brain with TradingView

I created a proper triangle and overlaid lines of equal time duration on it to subdivide it into three equal sections. I did this to get a better idea of the potential breakout time, since breakouts generally occur in the final third of a tapering triangle.


Made by Bit Brain with TradingView

A look at the BTC volume profile shows that $3600 has been a price level where trading volume has been high during the last month and a half. $3600-$3500 should therefore provide support.


Made by Bit Brain with YAHOO! Finance

We now have a time when our breakout may start, a support level and a probable latest time for our breakout.


Made by Bit Brain with TradingView

It is therefore possible that BTC will follow something similar to the trajectory below, resulting in a breakout in early May. I do not believe there to be a strong possibility of this happening because I believe that further consolidation is still required at our current level (between $3500 and $4000).

Bit Brain probability of an early May breakout: 10%.


Made by Bit Brain with TradingView

I consider it more likely that BTC will again bounce off the top of the triangle in early May, rebound off the lower side of the triangle again and breakout at a later date - as indicated below.


Made by Bit Brain with TradingView

I am particularly fond of the 4 July breakout possibility as indicated by the second dashed line on the chart below. This is now the THIRD independent method I've used which suggests that date as a possibility for a breakout.


Made by Bit Brain with TradingView

The first time I stumbled upon that date was by using Fib time circles - as described in my 7 February post "4th of July fireworks?".


From https://mentormarket.io/bitbrain/4th-of-july-fireworks/

The next confirmation I found for a 4 July breakout was by overlaying the 2014/15 market on the current one in my 10 February post "Bitcoin – Fib levels" .


From https://mentormarket.io/bitbrain/bitcoin-fib-levels/

This is now more than just a coincidence. Of course nothing is certain, but my feelings that Q3 of 2019 is a likely time for a bullish breakout become ever stronger, not just from a TA perspective, but from an FA perspective as well (perhaps even more so). Fundamentally speaking, I think that the market will be ready to start the climb by that time ("start", not go into "hype madness" - that comes later).

Bit Brain probability of a bullish Q3 2019 BTC breakout: 45% - and growing

For those looking to trade a breakout from this triangle (instead of carrying on with a long-term hodl), I suggest a profit target in the region of $5100 based on the height of the ascending triangle. Beware of false breakouts.

Yours in crypto

Bit Brain

"The secret to success: find out where people are going and get there first" 

~ Mark Twain

"By this means (fractional reserve banking) government may secretly and unobserved, confiscate the wealth of the people, and not one man in a million will detect the theft."

~ John Maynard Keynes

Bit Brain recommends:

Crypto Exchanges:


Published by Bit Brain
on

with SteemPress
https://mentormarket.io/cryptocurrencies/bit-brain/bitcoin-the-future-becomes-clearer/


Sort:  

Feeling better about it surely as stability has been good to see. Even the altcoins are doing fairly well which is a sign of sentiment in the right direction.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Plenty of positive sentiment around these days. I think the priced drop of November was a capitulation event which is now just waiting to be reversed.

Awesome analysis as I believe the bottom is in at $3k.

Thanks. So do I.

Excellent piece of TA -reasoned and actually pleasant charts to boot! I'll factor this into my own analysis of BTC. Lot to like here.

I'm glad you found it useful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87