You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitcoin energy consumption and media spinning

in #bitcoin6 years ago

Really nicely written. I've always known that BTC mining consumes more power than it can afford to from an ecological perspective (which is why I bought Envion (EVN)). That's also one of the main reasons I support PoS (or similar systems) over PoW (which is just one more reason to love NEO! 😀).

But I'd never thought in terms of comparing it to other mining operations. Wow, that suddenly changes your perspective!

I still don't think we can afford to mine crypto using non-renewable energy in the long-term, but as you say, it's a drop in the ocean for now! With coins like ETH planning to become PoS, and projects like Envion (the scandal of their CEO notwithstanding), crypto is moving in the right, socially responsible direction.

Nice one man! This one gets a resteem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88