The birth of Satoshi House part I

in #bitcoin5 years ago

Satoshi house pic.jpeg

This is the first article in a series of how I got into bitcoin, started a bar and Satoshi House. This story started on a paradise island of Koh Phangan in the Gulf of Thailand and ended up 1000 miles north in The Golden Triangle.

Let me tell you a little about my background and where the idea of Satoshi House came from. In 2010 I first heard about bitcoin, as an early adopter of new technologies, the idea of bitcoin really attracted me. At the same time, I opened my first business and did not have time to look into it more, and forgot about bitcoin. At the Silk Road, time bitcoin came up on my radar again but I was still too busy running CrowBar with many crazy late nights and everything else that comes with running a bar.

CrowbarDave.jpg

In 2015 I went back to Sweden to spend some time with my family and this was the first time I really had the time to look into what bitcoin actually is and how it works. I was amazed by what bitcoin could offer instead of our traditional monetary system. I Just had to find out more about bitcoin, I wanted to know everything there was to know!

At this point, I started reading everything I could find, Andreas Antonopoulos and Giacomo Zucco was a great inspiration, watching YouTube videos with The World Crypto Network, Block Digest, Tone Vays and people a hell of a lot smarter than me. Now I was in the rabbit hole, and I did not want to get out of it. How can I get some bitcoin? Was always on my mind. I understood at this point that bitcoin will start a financial revolution, I want to be part of the revolution. I found out that there were a few websites in Thailand where you could buy bitcoin. Armed with this I went back to Thailand determined to get some bitcoin.

When I came back to CrowBar a month later, I spoke to one of my friends Dave. I told him we need to get some bitcoin! His answer was: I already got some! We decided to partner up and help each other to learn more and buy bitcoin.

I must say it was very easy to buy our first bitcoin in Thailand. We put in a buy order on a website and the went to the ATM and transferred money to the company account and sent them a screenshot of the transfer slip. Within one hour we had bitcoin!

We were so excited about having bitcoin, now came also a steep learning curve. How do our monetary system and banks work? I thought I had a pretty good understanding, but how wrong was I! To get a better understanding I started reading Rothbard and studying Libertarianism. And everything became more clear to me.

Dave and I were so excited about bitcoin want wanted to spread the knowledge. We started hosting bitcoin meetups in my bar. On our first presentation, we talked about the history of money and banks and then we went on to explain how bitcoin is different. Most people did not understand what we were talking about and why we were so excited, they thought that we were crazy buying some silly internet money. Some even asked us if we were looking for investments! We answered NO! We want you to be in control of your own money! There was always a few that stayed around after the meetup and wanted to know more, we showed them where they could find out more information about bitcoin and how the banking system works. Most of them came back and thanked us for the help and wanted to buy some bitcoin.

Crowbar.jpg

In the next article, I will talk about what happened during the bull run and how the idea of Satoshi House came together. In the last article, I'll talk about what Satoshi House is and what our goals and visions are.
Find out more about Satoshi House here https://www.satoshihouse.org/
Contact: [email protected]
CrowBar: http://www.crowbarphangan.com/

Sort:  

What a great story!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks buddy, stay tuned for part II

Looking forward to it

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @cryptorevolver! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61587.45
ETH 2890.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43