Met a Bitcoin ATM in Brno, Czech Republic

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

Not me. It's my wife and son who are currently travelling in Europe.

Yeah, my wife sent me some photos last weekend (see below) about a Bitcoin ATM (in some places, they are called BTM, i.e. Bitcoin Teller Machine). She knows that I am crazy about these cryptocurrencies and I have been talking these alien things to her in the past year.

I was excited to see those photos, but did not ask her for more details (I am pretty sure she did not use it as she has never handled any coins before) because I know it's quite stressful travelling with a 5 years old boy alone in a foreign country (who the fxck has time to answer your trivial questions about this stupid machine! you should be thankful that I had time to take these photos and sent them to you already... I imagine^^)


Well, I have Google to help me. So, I soon found out that this machine belongs to a Czech startup company WBTCB, World BTC Business. Here is their website.

I have also found a story on coindesk back in 2014 about this company:

Gallery: Behind the Scenes at Prague's New Bitcoin Center

image.png
source - coindesk, the link above.

Based on the info from the website, I tried to locate the Bitcoin ATM my wife ran into. Turns out it's inside a shopping center called Omega that Google Map doesn't have a direct street view, but I can still imagine from the bird's eye view. ^_^


source - goolge map

This reminds me of my previous encounter with BTMs ... Also in Europe and it was my first time! ^_^

My Europa Plog - Meeting Europe's first Bitcoin ATM in Bratislava! Bought 100 Euros! Step by step

I visited Prague last year, but have never been to Brno, a city that I can only associated with Milan Kundera. Now, since I have known that they have a bitcoin machines there, suddenly this city seems a lot friendlier to me now... lol

Sort:  

👍

Soon the BTMs will be like any other ATMs and will replace FIAT money as all will get digitized regarding purchasing stuff from stores with BTC and other cryptocurrencies. @deanliu

thats for sure!!

I certainly hope so, but not as optimistic like you though. :)

We all will have to accept that crypto is the future and we have to make preparation from today only

@deanliu this is the way of the future. I can’t wait until we see what I call: “Muti-Crypto-Machines”. MCM’s!!!! The day that MCM’s arrive will be an amazing time for us all.

I see you have mastered perfectly the skills required of being a good husband 😎

😎😎😎😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54