You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I'm Negative on Bitcoin

in #bitcoin6 years ago

First and foremost, love your content & critical analysis in a time where everyone is absurdly bullish.

I know you didn't want questions like "What do you think of X currency" etc.

However, can you answer this?

If you had just discovered the crypto space and wanted to invest just $100, where would you put it? I'm not asking for financial advise. I'm just curious on your opinion as a longterm hold with the CURRENT prices. What % would you put into which currencies for a relatively safe investment? (keyword being relative, I understand crypto is a very high risk environment in general at the moment)

Do you think of ALL crypto as a bubble given the current hype? Or do you think there are crypto's that have largely been unaffected by the BTC mania? If so, which of these crypto's do you consider to be unaffected and a reasonable investment.

I am not asking for investment advice, I am asking for your opinion. I understand your answer is not investment advice and everyone should only invest what they are fully willing to lose.

Sort:  

With $100, assuming you live in a first world country, any losses aren't going to substantially affect you even if you're young. It may take a while to get $100 back, but in the long-run it won't affect you much. Hence I'd say stick with the large-cap cryptocurrencies (top 10 or so). Personally I'd recommend splitting it between Bitcoin and Ethereum. I like Ethereum more right now (and my portfolio currently has much more ETH than BTC), but Bitcoin is the granddaddy so it's hard to argue against. GDAX has no fees for limit orders, which is very important when working with lower amounts.

Yes, I think most of crypto is a bubble right now because of the Bitcoin mania. Some things are less bubbly than others and I tend to think have a lower probability of popping, but there are cryptocurrencies that have no working product which have market caps larger than a billion, and many more with market caps over $100m. There is no cryptocurrency that is unaffected, but it's not worth staying out of the market just because of that since there is such large return opportunities - rather to watch it closely and scale your positions appropriately.

I would like to know your opinion about ETHlend, a live (alpha on mainnet) collateralized P2P lending DAPP. Its marketcap is less than 100M, which is relatively less bubble like, I would say.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77