Which Bitcoin is Better?

in #bitcoin6 years ago

Which bitcoin is better?


We are closing in on the ten year anniversary of the invention of bitcoin and during that time there has been an awful lot of drama in bitcoin. The greatest contention has occurred around 'the scaling debate', which had prominent figures in the industry locking horns over the best way to grow bitcoin. Compromise didn't happen and as of August 1st 2017 factions finally split off from each other and went their separate ways.

Since then people have taken their allegiances and heated debate still ensues. This may cause confusion. The following graphic should help.

A fork is another way of saying protocol upgrade.

Which upgrade do I think has the best vision?


Disclaimer: Nothing in this article is to be regarded as financial advice. I state my personal preference only. Please act responsibly.

Both factions can now focus on the future each persuing their preferred vision but contention will probably continue over which is the real bitcoin. It is a backwards looking argument. I have taken my time to decide which upgrade I prefer going forward. I've listened to the arguments coming from both sides and I'm still excited by the original vision of the creator Satoshi Nakamoto. Bitcoin cash developers champion this vision and Bitcoin core developers openly mock it.

When I first became interested in bitcoin the thing which really excited me was that bitcoin was going to bank the unbanked. Bitcoin was going to make Western Union obsolete. People spoke of the tremendous improvement this was going to make on ordinary people's lives. Trade would flourish, prosperity would swell, this is what I signed up for. Out of the two, only bitcoin cash continues this vision and that is why I prefer bitcoin cash.


http://digitalcurrencyservices.co.uk
http://www.facebook.com/DLdigitalc
https://twitter.com/dldigital

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71