Sort:  

I certainly hope so. The fact that it didn't do much these past few days with bitcoin flying wasn't encouraging to say the least...

Steem has its own mind... It's not minable like Bitcoin, so it goes up with a delay as people need to first cash out extra Bitcoin to buy Steem. For me, when Steem goes below 17000 sats, it's flag to start buying and when it goes above 27000 sats, it's time to start selling.

Well there were several major coins that are not mine-able that still enjoyed much better price action the last few days than steem did, so I don't think that is it. I am not sure why it missed out on most of the love but it was pretty discouraging that it did.

There hasn't been really positive news about Steem lately to warrant any buy rush... Recent wallet separation from steemit.com has only made life of users more complicated. People like me think Steem as long-time investment and that means it won't follow every movement of Bitcoin.

The hard fork introducing resource credits made Steem less appealing for new users and less active older users because they can only make very limited about of posts and comments due to price of one comment fluctuating a lot.

True. Hopefully now that steemit.com is separated they can make some development on that happen, and happen rather quickly compared to how they have moved in the past. The wallet being attached seemed to be a major headwind in the past.

I don't think their reasoning was valid. It did smell like an excuse to hide lack of competence. I have been developer for over 35 years and I think I have pretty good nose for excuses.

I haven't followed all hard forks but at least one of the most recent ones have backfired due to unexpected results that should have been something competent development team would have expected and as such would have taken in account when preparing the hard fork.

There have been several hard forks where unexpected results happened. I think "incompetent" is a very fitting description of them.

Despite the subpar development team, some people still trust in future of Steem as it's value hasn't crashed down to levels normally seen from shitcoins... Personally I don't know if waiting few more months or years is enough to show the real potential of the development team.

yea i was surprised it didn't move more?

So was I... hopefully it will play catch-up now.

you said it and steem followed! lol

Sort of. It only jumped from 50th to 49th on Coinmarketcap I believe? Just checked... looks like it is back to 50th. Ugh.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57768.72
ETH 2943.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66