Defense Distributed and the Sovereign Individual

in #bitcoin6 years ago


In this video I discuss the "Come and Take It" ethos as it related to bitcoin and guns. In America, our first Amendment gives us the freedom of speech and to express ourselves, and the Second Amendment gives us the right to bear arms.

Do these rights extend to computer code? Our nation is currently in the process of figuring that out.

to learn more about Defense Distributed visit their website: https://defdist.org/

thank you for your time and attention, see you in the comments!

E


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Thanks for talking about this. I like how your make the connections between the possible freedoms of crytpo-currencies and the freedom to bear arms. I fully agree that the right to bear arms shouldn't be taken away (and that it's a very bad sign if it is taken), but I'm not keen on the practicalities of guns. I'm still working this out in my own head and talking with it quite a bit with my wife.

What was the name of the book you mentioned at the beginning of the video and the author?

Thanks for the comment @matthewdavid

It is an important topic to figure out I feel, because the 2nd amaendmenr is what defines and separates America from just about every other western democracy, however at the same time, the amount of shootings and killings etc. Is more than alarming.

The name of the book is “the sovereign individual: how to survive and thrive during the collapse of the welfare state” by James Davidson

Posted using Partiko iOS

Deep thoughts! I like it. Come and take it...it will be a lot more difficult to do in the South haha.

Southerners do like their guns 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

I really like knowing the other cultures and USA are a country that interests me most.
GUNS are a big theme in the USA.

Posted using Partiko Android

Americans (some) do like their guns. I never thought much about it until I got older and realized in most other countries people aren’t allowed to own guns. But that perturbs me a little, cause in some ways a gun is the great equalizer between man and govt

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48